Rent repayment orders in Nottingham
What the tribunal ordered in Nottingham
93 decisions (82 ended in a rent repayment order). In 69 the amount ordered has been checked.
| All | Before 5 Sep 2022 | Since 5 Sep 2022 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ended in a rent repayment order | 90% 82 of 91 | 96% 67 of 70 | 71% 15 of 21 |
| Typical amount ordered, per applicant | £3,000 n=63 | £3,655 n=52 | £750 n=11 |
| Typical amount ordered, per decision | £5,405 n=69, typically 2 applicants | £5,645 n=55, typically 4 applicants | £1,806 n=14, typically 1 applicant |
| Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award | 60% n=25 | 75% n=17 | 50% n=8 |
No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.
"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.
"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".
The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.
By offence
| Offence | Decisions | Ended in an order | Typical amount ordered, per applicant | Typical amount ordered, per decision |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unlicensed HMO | 39 | 92% 35 of 38 | £4,546 n=32 | £27,358 n=32, typically 6 applicants |
| Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | 49 | 94% 46 of 49 | £1,806 n=30 | £3,525 n=36, typically 1 applicant |
| Illegal eviction | 2 | too few 1 of 2 | too few n=1 | too few n=1 |
| Harassment | 1 | too few 0 of 1 | too few n=0 | too few n=0 |
| Prohibition order not complied with | 1 | too few 0 of 1 | too few n=0 | too few n=0 |
The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.
Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.
Download these as a PDF The figures and the list below, with a GOV.UK link for every decision: something you can attach to an RRO1 application. Individual landlords are not named in it.
Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.
| Address | Offence | Landlord | Rent pcm | Maximum | Per applicant | Ordered, total | Applicants | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Room 1, 203a Ilkeston Road, Nottingham, NG7 3FW Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company WSF Group Limited |
£628.33 | £3,931.98 | £1,966 | £1,966 | 1 | 50% | 4 Mar 2026 |
| 67 Shrewsbury Road, Nottingham, NG2 4HN Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company Robson Homes Limited |
£150 | £6,582.16 | £6,582.16 | council | 100% | 24 Jan 2026 | |
| 503 Marco Island Huntingdon Street Nottingham NG1 1AR Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,875 | £750 | £750 | 1 | 40% | 20 Jan 2026 | |
| 106 Manton Crescent, Lenton Abbey, Beeston, Nottingham NG9 2GF Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company Parliament House Limited |
£750 | £712.10 | £1,424.20 | 2 | 27 Nov 2025 | ||
| 18 Field Maple Drive, Nottingham NG7 5PU Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £750 | £8,700 | £3,262.50 | £6,525 | 2 | 75% | 9 Oct 2025 |
| 28B Noel Street, Nottingham, NG7 6AW Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Out of time or no jurisdiction | 3 | 1 Sep 2025 | ||||
| 13 Myrtle Avenue, Nottingham, NG7 6NR Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 21 Mar 2025 | ||||
| 33 Wells Road, Nottingham, NG3 3AP 62 Ransom Road, Nottingham, NG3 3LJ 366 Alfreton Road, Nottingham, NG7 5NE Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £20,639.88 | council | 14 Mar 2025 | ||||
| Apartment 23 Broadway House, 32 Stoney Street, Nottingham, NG1 1LL Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £850 | £195.61 | £58 | £58 | 1 | 30% | 4 Feb 2025 |
| Flat 3, 39-41 Bridlesmith Gate, Nottingham, NG1 2GN Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company VSHF Nottingham Limited |
Dismissed | 2 | 7 Oct 2024 | ||||
| 47 Windmill Lane Nottingham NG2 4QB Read the reasoning old rules | Harassment | individual | Dismissed | 2 | 19 Sep 2024 | ||||
| 106A and 108 Sneinton Boulevard, Nottingham NG2 4FJ and 5 Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £425 | £9,344.92 | council | 29 Jul 2024 | |||
| 7 Wicker Close, Nottingham, NG6 0FQ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £725 | £1,821.25 | £1,821.25 | 1 | 25 Jan 2024 | ||
| 7 Crofton Close, Beechdale, Nottingham, NG8 3HH Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | individual | £695 | Out of time or no jurisdiction | 1 | 5 Dec 2023 | |||
| 64 Querneby Road, Nottingham, NG3 5HY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £525 | £563.50 | £1,127 | 2 | 3 Aug 2023 | ||
| Flats at Cotton Mills, Radford Boulevard, Nottingham, NG7 3BR and others Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company Clarendon Cotton Mill Limited |
£1,182.54 | £15,373.08 | 13 | 18 Jul 2023 | |||
| 18 Belconnen Road, Bestwood, Nottingham, NG5 5HY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £500 | £5,500 | £2,750 | £2,750 | 1 | 50% | 20 Mar 2023 |
| 82 Crusader House, Thurland Street, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, NG1 3BT Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company RCC Property Solutions Ltd |
£895 | £3,580 | £1,790 | £1,790 | 1 | 50% | 3 Mar 2023 |
| 16 Fearnleigh Drive, Nottingham, NG6 0JH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £3,124.78 | £468.72 | £468.72 | 1 | 15% | 17 Feb 2023 | |
| 15 St Judes Avenue, Nottingham, NG3 5FG Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £387.30 | £774.59 | 2 | 3 Jan 2023 | |||
| 52 Thurgarton Street, Nottingham, NG2 4AG Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £600 | £3,015 | £1,408.70 | £2,817.40 | 2 | 93% | 22 Dec 2022 |
| 356 Highbury Road, Nottingham, NG6 9AF Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Housing 35 Plus Limited |
£400 | Dismissed | 1 | 15 Nov 2022 | |||
| Flat 3 The Point, 6 Bellar Gate, Nottingham, NG1 1JN Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,100 | £5,405.22 | £5,405.22 | 1 | 18 Jul 2022 | ||
| 16 Conisborough Terrace, Nottingham, NG2 2FP Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £510 | Dismissed | 1 | 28 Jun 2022 | |||
| 36 Denstone Road, Nottingham, NG3 2AW Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £500 | £6,000 | £3,000 | £3,000 | 1 | 50% | 21 Apr 2022 |
| 9A Lismore Close, Nottingham, NG7 3BW Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £500 | £6,000 | £3,000 | £6,000 | 2 | 100% | 19 Oct 2021 |
| 123 Porchester Road, Nottingham, NG3 6LE Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £650 | £7,800 | £2,340 | £4,680 | 2 | 60% | 12 Oct 2021 |
| 23 Berridge Road, Nottingham, NG7 6LX Read the reasoning old rules | Not stated | not stated | Not clear | None | 5 Oct 2021 | ||||
| 23 Berridge Road, Nottingham, NG7 6LX Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £675 | £8,100 | £3,240 | £6,480 | 2 | 80% | 5 Oct 2021 |
| 48 Ladbrooke Crescent, Nottingham, NG6 0GQ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £650 | £7,650 | £382.50 | £765 | 2 | 10% | 31 Aug 2021 |
| 8 Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 8 Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 8 Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 8 Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 8 Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 8 Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 6a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 6a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 6a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 6a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 6a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 6a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,546.31 | £54,555.74 | 12 | 27 Aug 2021 | ||
| 22 Park View Court, Bath Street, Nottingham, NG1 1DD Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £400 | £4,340 | £4,340 | 1 | 25 Jun 2021 | ||
| 40 Laurie Avenue, Nottinmghgam, NG7 6PN Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £5,644.98 | £5,644.98 | council | 100% | 25 Jan 2021 | ||
| 7 Sneinton Hollows, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, NG2 4AA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £450 | £1,666.67 | £5,000 | 3 | 23 Dec 2020 | ||
| 7 Sneinton Hollows, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, NG2 4AA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £450 | £1,666.67 | £5,000 | 3 | 23 Dec 2020 | ||
| 202 Russell Road, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, NG7 6GW Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £6,118.09 | £5,500 | £5,500 | 1 | 90% | 23 Dec 2020 | |
| 8a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,559.75 | £27,358.50 | 6 | 10 Dec 2020 | ||
| 8a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,559.75 | £27,358.50 | 6 | 10 Dec 2020 | ||
| 8a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,559.75 | £27,358.50 | 6 | 10 Dec 2020 | ||
| 8a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,559.75 | £27,358.50 | 6 | 10 Dec 2020 | ||
| 8a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,559.75 | £27,358.50 | 6 | 10 Dec 2020 | ||
| 8a Gamble Street, Nottingham, NG7 4EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £429 | £4,559.75 | £27,358.50 | 6 | 10 Dec 2020 | ||
| 2 Bedford Grove, Nottingham NG6 9DE Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £850 | £10,200 | £10,200 | £10,200 | 1 | 100% | 18 Nov 2020 |
| Apartment 22, 1A Hollowstone, Nottingham NG1 1JH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company and individuals | £995 | Dismissed | 2 | 12 Nov 2020 | |||
| Flat A, 30 Magdala Road, Nottingham, NG3 5DF Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £8,592.98 | £8,592.98 | council | 100% | 12 Nov 2020 | ||
| Flat B, 30 Magdala Road, Nottingham, NG3 5DF Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £563 | £8,592.98 | £8,592.98 | council | 100% | 12 Nov 2020 | |
| 35A Hucknall Road, Nottingham, NG5 1BJ Read the reasoning old rules | Prohibition order not complied with | individual | £350 | Dismissed | 1 | 21 Oct 2020 | |||
| 8 Westbury Road, Nottingham NG5 1EP Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | individual | £550 | £3,834.58 | £3,834.58 | 1 | 7 Oct 2020 | ||
| Apartment 16 Nightingale House, Ockbrook Drive, Mapperley, Nottingham NG3 6AT Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company and individuals Mapperley Management Limited |
£500 | £6,000 | £6,000 | £6,000 | 1 | 100% | 2 Sep 2020 |
| 69 Gawthorne Street, Nottingham, NG7 7JS Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,476.05 | £13,904.22 | 4 | 14 Jul 2020 | |||
| 69 Gawthorne Street, Nottingham, NG7 7JS Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | 4 | 14 Jul 2020 | |||||
| 69 Gawthorne Street, Nottingham, NG7 7JS Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | 4 | 14 Jul 2020 | |||||
| 69 Gawthorne Street, Nottingham, NG7 7JS Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | 4 | 14 Jul 2020 | |||||
| 11 Brook Court, Player Street, Nottingham, NG7 5PP Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £325 | £3,900 | £1,950 | £3,900 | 2 | 100% | 25 Jun 2020 |
| 11 Brook Court, Player Street, Nottingham, NG7 5PP Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £325 | £3,900 | £1,950 | £3,900 | 2 | 100% | 25 Jun 2020 |
| 32 Bullfinch Road, Basford, Nottingham, NG6 0NJ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £800 | £8,800 | £1,120.19 | £1,120.19 | 1 | 13% | 11 Jun 2020 |
| Flat 2, 64 Addison Street, Nottingham NG1 4HA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £3,200 | £2,400 | £2,400 | 1 | 75% | 28 May 2020 | |
| 9 Pump Works Close, Nottingham NG5 2HU Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £625 | £6,097.65 | £5,625.05 | £5,625.05 | 1 | 92% | 11 May 2020 |
| 8 Shepherd House, Arnold Road, Nottingham, NG5 5XA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £6,270 | £2,092.24 | £2,092.24 | 1 | 33% | 2 Apr 2020 | |
| 35c Hucknall Road, Nottingham, NG5 1BJ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £400 | £3,257 | £421.05 | £842.10 | 2 | 26% | 2 Apr 2020 |
| 385 Haydn Road, Nottingham, NG5 1DZ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £500 | £3,131.52 | £335.19 | £670.38 | 2 | 21% | 2 Apr 2020 |
| Flat 4, 64 Addison Street, Nottingham NG1 4HA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £759.49 | £4,556.95 | 6 | 2 Apr 2020 | |||
| Flat 4, 64 Addison Street, Nottingham NG1 4HA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £759.49 | £4,556.95 | 6 | 2 Apr 2020 | |||
| Flat 4, 64 Addison Street, Nottingham NG1 4HA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £759.49 | £4,556.95 | 6 | 2 Apr 2020 | |||
| Flat 4, 64 Addison Street, Nottingham NG1 4HA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £759.49 | £4,556.95 | 6 | 2 Apr 2020 | |||
| Flat 4, 64 Addison Street, Nottingham NG1 4HA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £759.49 | £4,556.95 | 6 | 2 Apr 2020 | |||
| Flat 3, 64 Addison Street, Nottingham NG1 4HA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £759.49 | £4,556.95 | 6 | 2 Apr 2020 | |||
| 33 Beeston Road, Nottingham, NG7 2JS Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,071.31 | £6,142.62 | 2 | 19 Feb 2020 | |||
| 33 Beeston Road, Nottingham, NG7 2JS Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,071.31 | £6,142.62 | 2 | 18 Feb 2020 | |||
| Flat 1, 24 Hamilton Drive, Nottingham NG7 1DF Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £625 | £6,875 | £1,718.75 | £1,718.75 | 1 | 25% | 31 Jan 2020 |
| 37 Nazareth Road, Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2TP Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,200 | £3,000 | £75 | £300 | 4 | 10% | 27 Jan 2020 |
| 37 Nazareth Road, Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2TP Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,200 | £3,000 | £75 | £300 | 4 | 10% | 27 Jan 2020 |
| 37 Nazareth Road, Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2TP Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £300 | £3,000 | £75 | £300 | 4 | 10% | 27 Jan 2020 |
| 37 Nazareth Road, Lenton, Nottingham NG7 2TP Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,200 | £75 | £300 | 4 | 27 Jan 2020 | ||
| 171 Hawton Crescent, Nottingham NG8 1EG Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £100 | £300 | 3 | 21 Nov 2019 | |||
| 171 Hawton Crescent, Nottingham NG8 1EG Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £100 | £300 | 3 | 21 Nov 2019 | |||
| 171 Hawton Crescent, Nottingham NG8 1EG Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £100 | £300 | 3 | 21 Nov 2019 | |||
| Flat 3, 16 Hope Street, Nottingham, NG7 1DL Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company Harp Investments Limited |
£450 | £4,050 | £4,050 | 1 | 25 Oct 2019 | ||
| Flat 2, 1 Alpha Terrace, North Sherwood Street, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire NG1 4EP Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company and individuals Aurum Estates Group Ltd |
£620 | £1,274 | £1,274 | 1 | 18 Jun 2019 | ||
| Flat 2, 42 Shakespeare Street, Nottingham, Nottinghamshire NG1 4FQ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,820 | £5,253.33 | £15,759.99 | 3 | 25 Feb 2019 | ||
| 205 North Sherwood Street, Nottingham NG1 4EH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £325 | £1,338.75 | £2,677.50 | 2 | 17 Dec 2018 | ||
| 205 North Sherwood Street, Nottingham NG1 4EH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £325 | £1,338.75 | £2,677.50 | 2 | 17 Dec 2018 | ||
Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.
The tribunal's approach to the amount, and the rules on who can apply and when, are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK. Had a rent increase instead? What the rent tribunal decided nearby.