Rent repayment orders › by offence
Unlicensed HMO
Rent repayment order decisions where the offence was a house in multiple occupation let without the licence it needed (section 72, Housing Act 2004).
318 of 429 applications on this ground with a known outcome ended in an order (74%). The tribunal has to be sure beyond reasonable doubt that the offence was committed.
What the tribunal ordered in England
650 decisions (318 ended in a rent repayment order).
Only 0 decisions with a checked amount. That is too few to show a pattern.
| All | Before 5 Sep 2022 | Since 5 Sep 2022 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ended in a rent repayment order | 74% 318 of 429 | 70% 32 of 46 | 75% 286 of 383 |
| Typical amount ordered, per applicant | – | – | – |
| Typical amount ordered, per decision | – | – | – |
| Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award | – | – | – |
No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.
"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.
"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".
The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.
The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.
Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.
Other offences
- Unlicensed house (selective licensing)
- Illegal eviction
- Harassment
- Improvement notice not complied with
- Prohibition order not complied with
- Violence for securing entry
- Breach of a banning order
- Misuse of a possession ground
- Breach of letting rules
- Other
Decisions: the 100 most recent of 650
Search by postcode or browse by local authority for the rest.
Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.
| Address | Offence | Landlord | Rent pcm | Maximum | Per applicant | Ordered, total | Applicants | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 37 Oriel Drive, London, SW13 8HW Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 1 | 16 Dec 2026 | ||||
| Flat 2, 757A High Road, London, N12 8LD Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company | £5,610 | £2,805 | £2,805 | 1 | 50% | 2 Oct 2026 | |
| Room 2, 35 Milne House, Ogilby Street, London SE18 5EJ Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 21 Sep 2026 | ||||
| 195 Dawes Road, Hammersmith, London SW6 7QY Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £39,672 | £3,306 | £9,918 | 3 | 25% | 11 Sep 2026 | |
| 65a Tufnell Park Road, Islington, N7 0PS Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £23,145.44 | £6,943.64 | £13,887.27 | 2 | 60% | 11 Sep 2026 | |
| 10 Ladycroft, Birmingham, B18 8EG Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,776.77 | £888.39 | £888.39 | 1 | 50% | 7 Sep 2026 | |
| Flat 12 Trevelyan House, Morpeth Street, London E2 0PY Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £550 | 4 | 24 Aug 2026 | ||||
| Flat 5, 27 Summit Road, Northolt UB5 5HJ Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | company Uniwell Investments Limited |
Dismissed | 1 | 19 Aug 2026 | ||||
| 1 Manor Road, Fishponds, Bristol, BS16 2JD Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,750 | £1,750 | £1,750 | 1 | 100% | 18 Aug 2026 | |
| 380 Brighton Road, South Croydon, CR2 6AL Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,886 | £906 | £906 | 1 | 48% | 17 Aug 2026 | |
| 31 Hood Road. Yeovil, BA21 5EN Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,266.46 | £2,322.54 | £2,322.54 | 1 | 71% | 10 Aug 2026 | |
| 1C Fairlawn Avenue, Ealing W4 5EF Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £23,300 | £5,825 | £17,475 | 3 | 75% | 10 Aug 2026 | |
| 36 Kenwyn Road, London SW4 7LH Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £62,172.51 | £7,395.45 | £29,581.79 | 4 | 48% | 4 Aug 2026 | |
| 12 Pratt Street, Camden, London, NW1 0AB Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £12,809.04 | £9,606.78 | £9,606.78 | 1 | 75% | 28 Jul 2026 | |
| 32A Little Ilford Lane, London, E12 5PW Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £4,100 | £615 | £615 | 1 | 15% | 23 Jul 2026 | |
| 519 Stapleton Road, Eastville, Bristol BS5 6PE Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,440 | £432 | £432 | 1 | 30% | 20 Jul 2026 | |
| 93B Sydenham Road, London, SE26 5EZ Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £22,992.18 | £8,622 | £17,244 | 2 | 75% | 16 Jul 2026 | |
| Flat 94 Castellain Mansions, Castellain Road, W9 1HB Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 4 | 14 Jul 2026 | ||||
| 25 Bulstrode Avenue, Hounslow TW3 3AA Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,000 | £2,700 | £2,700 | 1 | 90% | 14 Jul 2026 | |
| 14 Jubilee Terrace, Southsea, PO5 3AS Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £6,125 | £1,564.08 | £1,564.08 | 1 | 26% | 13 Jul 2026 | |
| 19 Hurston Road, Bristol BS4 1SU Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,900 | £213.75 | £855 | 4 | 45% | 10 Jul 2026 | |
| 19 Alderney Road, London E1 4EG Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | company VHGK Limited |
Not clear | 4 | 10 Jul 2026 | ||||
| 97 Manners Road, Southsea, Hants PO4 0BD Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 9 Jul 2026 | ||||
| 63 Southern Bypass, Oxford, OX2 0LA Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 30 Jun 2026 | ||||
| 12B Long Lane, Finchley, London N3 2PT Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,024.99 | £6,049.98 | 2 | 30 Jun 2026 | |||
| 37 Streamside, Tuffley, Gloucester, GL4 0TA Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £20,900 | £4,180 | £8,360 | 2 | 40% | 30 Jun 2026 | |
| 49b Jerningham Road, London SE14 5NQ Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,800 | £1,440 | £1,440 | 1 | 80% | 25 Jun 2026 | |
| (x3) 1 Driffield Road, London, E3 5NE (1), (2), (3). Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £350 | £1,050 | 3 | 22 Jun 2026 | |||
| Flat 30, Dawes House, Orb Street, London, SE17 1RE . Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 3 | 20 Jun 2026 | ||||
| 3 Guildford Road, Manchester M6 8PT Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,036 | £430 | £430 | 1 | 21% | 17 Jun 2026 | |
| Rooms 1, 2, 3 & 4, 22 Brislington Hill, Bristol, BS4 5BD Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 4 | 17 Jun 2026 | ||||
| 249 Woolwich Road, London, SE10 0RN Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 2 | 16 Jun 2026 | ||||
| 51 Castleview Gardens, London, IG1 3QF Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 3 | 15 Jun 2026 | ||||
| 60 Raglan Avenue, Waltham Cross, EN8 8DA & Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 2 | 10 Jun 2026 | ||||
| Basement Flat, 4 Glazbury Road, London, W14 9AS Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £6,000 | £3,600 | £3,600 | 1 | 60% | 8 Jun 2026 | |
| Flat 13, Block D Peabody Estate, SW6 1UN Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £4,099.80 | £3,074.85 | £3,074.85 | 1 | 75% | 8 Jun 2026 | |
| Flat 66 Settlers Court, 17 Newport Avenue, London, E14 2DG Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,500 | £3,000 | 2 | 8 Jun 2026 | |||
| 6 Smyrna Mansions, Smyrna Road, London, NW6 4LU Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £7,476 | £2,242.80 | None | 30% | 26 May 2026 | ||
| 6 Greenway Drive, Bristol, BS10 5LU Read the reasoning period not statedfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £8,400 | £3,780 | £3,780 | 1 | 45% | 22 May 2026 | |
| 12 Howard Street, York, YO10 4BQ 603 Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 3 | 18 May 2026 | ||||
| 244 Milton Road, Cambridge CB4 1LQ Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Out of time or no jurisdiction | 2 | 15 May 2026 | ||||
| 19 Larman Lane, Norwich NR5 8TZ Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Out of time or no jurisdiction | 6 | 15 May 2026 | ||||
| 56 St Georges Way Portsmouth PO1 3AJ (“the premises”) Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 1 | 11 May 2026 | ||||
| 118 Broomfield Street, Poplar, Tower Hamlets, E14 6BQ Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 3 | 7 May 2026 | ||||
| Flat 3, 20 Cockspur Street London, SW1Y 5BL Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Other ruling | 3 | 7 May 2026 | ||||
| 39 Steventon Road, London, W12 0SU Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Out of time or no jurisdiction | 6 | 29 Apr 2026 | ||||
| Flat 1, 5 Albert Road, Ramsgate, Kent. CT11 8DR Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,468.25 | £2,468.25 | 1 | 28 Apr 2026 | |||
| (x3) 35 Rodney Place, London, E17 5NN . Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals | £24,653.70 | £3,587.87 | £10,763.62 | 3 | 44% | 22 Apr 2026 | |
| 29b Landseer Road, London, N19 4JU Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Palais Europe Ltd |
Not clear | 1 | 21 Apr 2026 | ||||
| 49 George Court, 3 Shackleton Way, London E16 2XL Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | not stated | £1,800 | £900 | £1,800 | 2 | 100% | 20 Apr 2026 | |
| 17 Dovey Road, Moseley, Birmingham, B13 9NT Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals Limestone Contracts Limited |
Struck out | 3 | 20 Apr 2026 | ||||
| 42 Sherwin House, SE11 5SB Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 1 | 17 Apr 2026 | ||||
| 7 Willow Court, Eden Grove, London, N7 8EH Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £8,100 | £8,100 | 1 | 16 Apr 2026 | |||
| The Old Reading Room, Church Lane, Slough, SL3 6LB Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,000 | £1,793 | £1,793 | 1 | 90% | 15 Apr 2026 | |
| 96 Ermine Way, Arrington, Cambridgeshire, SG8 OAH 96 Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 1 | 27 Mar 2026 | ||||
| 12 Padstow House, Three Colt Street, London E14 8AH Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £22,600 | £1,117.50 | £4,470 | 4 | 20% | 24 Mar 2026 | |
| 31 Hebron Road, Bedminster, Bristol, BS3 3AD Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,969.50 | £3,939 | 2 | 24 Mar 2026 | |||
| 162A Carlingford Road, London N15 3EU Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £26,318.70 | £5,700.38 | £17,101.15 | 3 | 65% | 18 Mar 2026 | |
| 15 Shakespeare Road, London W3 6SG Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Roomerang Holdings Ltd |
Not clear | 3 | 18 Mar 2026 | ||||
| Apartment 101, 18 Hawthorne Crescent, Greenwich, London SE10 9GU Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 2 | 17 Mar 2026 | ||||
| 2 Whitworth House, Falmouth Road. SE1 6RW Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £28,321.94 | £6,488.32 | £19,464.96 | 3 | 69% | 16 Mar 2026 | |
| Flat 8 above Desi Spice, Huddersfield Road, Halifax HX3 0NS Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 2 | 16 Mar 2026 | ||||
| Flat 6 Ledbury House, Portobello Court, Westbourne Grove, London W11 2DH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals | Not clear | 3 | 15 Mar 2026 | ||||
| 48 Philip Lane, London, N15 4JE Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company The Cosy Initiative Limited |
Not clear | 3 | 13 Mar 2026 | ||||
| 69 Scotforth Road, Lancaster, LA1 4SD Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 7 | 9 Mar 2026 | ||||
| 18 Millender Walk, London, SE16 2BL Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,500 | £3,000 | 2 | 6 Mar 2026 | |||
| Flat 5 Paris House, London, E2 6QT Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company Mio Real Estate Ltd |
£1,288.42 | £6,442.10 | 5 | 6 Mar 2026 | |||
| 35 Wycliffe Road, Norwich, NR4 7DU & Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Out of time or no jurisdiction | 2 | 26 Feb 2026 | ||||
| Top Floor Flat, 82 Hubert Grove, London, SW9 9PD Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company Mazal Trading Ltd |
£213.50 | £427 | 2 | 23 Feb 2026 | |||
| 122 Widdenham Road, London N7 9SQ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 2 | 18 Feb 2026 | ||||
| Upper Floor Flat, 1 Burnely Road, London SW9 OSH Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £19,445.01 | £9,722.51 | £9,722.51 | 1 | 50% | 16 Feb 2026 | |
| Rooms A and 2, 5 Bento, 122 Henry Street, Sheffield, S3 7LU & Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 2 | 11 Feb 2026 | ||||
| Room 4, 90 Salisbury Road, Wavertree, Liverpool L15 1HW Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £942.21 | £423.99 | £423.99 | 1 | 45% | 6 Feb 2026 | |
| 80 Obelisk Rise, Northampton, NN2 8QU Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £5,310 | £3,696 | £3,696 | 1 | 70% | 5 Feb 2026 | |
| Flat 2, 25 Leaside Avenue, N10 3BT Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 2 | 5 Feb 2026 | ||||
| 327 Tollgate Road, London, E6 5YF Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals Signature Lettings Ltd |
£6,738 | £5,390.40 | £5,390.40 | 1 | 80% | 5 Feb 2026 | |
| 9 David’s Road London SE23 3EP Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,568.56 | £7,842.80 | 5 | 4 Feb 2026 | |||
| 2 Printers Mews, London E3 5NZ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 1 | 2 Feb 2026 | ||||
| 263 Boundary Road, London, E17 8NE Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 2 Feb 2026 | ||||
| 151 Sidney Grove, Newcastle upon Tyne NE4 5PE Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 29 Jan 2026 | ||||
| 28B Beechfield Road, London, N4 1PE Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 2 | 28 Jan 2026 | ||||
| (x3) 123 Mellish Street, London, E14 8PJ . Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,033.25 | £6,099.75 | 3 | 26 Jan 2026 | |||
| 8A Spring Corner, Feltham, TW13 4PA Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £328.75 | £164.37 | £164.37 | 1 | 50% | 26 Jan 2026 | |
| Flat 3, 4 Beauley Road, Southville, Bristol, BS3 1PX Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company TDM Lettings Ltd |
£4,500 | £2,700 | £2,700 | 1 | 60% | 22 Jan 2026 | |
| 12 Doric House, Mace Street, London E2 0RE Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 3 | 21 Jan 2026 | ||||
| 96 Camberwell New Road, London SE5 0RS Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £36,000 | £7,650 | £30,600 | 4 | 85% | 19 Jan 2026 | |
| Flat 3 High Stone Apartments, 509 High Road, Leytonstone, E11 4ZG Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company Gopalakrisnan Properties Limited |
£16,440 | £6,165 | £12,330 | 2 | 75% | 15 Jan 2026 | |
| 10 Larke Rise, Manchester, M20 2UL Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company | Not clear | 1 | 13 Jan 2026 | ||||
| 65 Wolsey Street, Reading, RG16AZ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Viraj Enterprises Limited |
Not clear | 3 | 9 Jan 2026 | ||||
| 1, Leof Crescent, Lewisham, London SE6 3QP Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,428.30 | £4,856.59 | 2 | 6 Jan 2026 | |||
| 58 George Downing Estate, London N16 6BE Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals Fixbrook Consultancy Limited |
£2,278 | £6,834 | 3 | 5 Jan 2026 | |||
| Flat 5,13-15 Netherwood Road, London W14 0BL Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | not stated | £6,981 | £133.33 | £400 | 3 | 6% | 31 Dec 2025 | |
| 212 Haslemere Road, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO4 9AS Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 22 Dec 2025 | ||||
| 87 Orchehill Avenue, Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire, SL9 8QL Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £8,520 | £3,471.50 | £3,471.50 | 1 | 41% | 16 Dec 2025 | |
| 44 Aberfoyle Road, London, SW16 5AA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 2 | 16 Dec 2025 | ||||
| 45 Station Road, New Milton, Hampshire BH25 6HR Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 2 | 15 Dec 2025 | ||||
| Flat 5, 14 Victoria Road South, Southsea, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO5 2BZ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 4 | 15 Dec 2025 | ||||
| The Cottage, 6B Kings Avenue, London SW4 8BD Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Not clear | 1 | 15 Dec 2025 | ||||
| 15 Dumbarton Road, Lancaster LA1 3BX Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £35,800 | £68.79 | £481.53 | 7 | 1% | 12 Dec 2025 | |
| 19 Ballance Road, London E9 5ST Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £7,761.76 | £3,104.70 | £6,209.40 | 2 | 80% | 9 Dec 2025 | |
Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.
The rules on who can apply and when are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK.