69 Gawthorne Street, Nottingham, NG7 7JS
BIR/00FY/HMK/2020/0007 · Nottingham · decided 14 Jul 2020 · rent repayment order
old rulesfigures not yet checked| Offence | Unlicensed HMO |
|---|---|
| Landlord | Individual |
| Applicants | 4 tenants |
| Rent | not stated as one figure |
| Period the order relates to | 4 Oct 2018 to 3 Oct 2019 |
| Maximum the tribunal could award | not stated as one figure |
| Amount the tribunal ordered | not found |
| Share of the maximum | 100%, as the tribunal stated it |
| Rules | Old rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent. |
Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the amount hasn't been checked yet and is left out of the statistics, so compare it with the original.
From the tribunal's reasons on the amount
In accordance with section 44 of the 2016 Act, the amount of an Order must relate to rent paid in a period, not exceeding 12 months during which the landlord was committing the offence under section 72(1) of the 2004 Act. The Respondent ceased to commit the offence on 4th October 2019 when the application for the HMO licence was duly made. The relevant period during which the offence was committed was therefore 4th October 2018 to 3rd October 2019 inclusive. … The amount that the landlord is required to pay in respect of a period must not exceed the rent paid in respect of that period. During the relevant period the Applicants paid the sums set out below, (pr0 rated for Applicants 1 and 2 to take account of fact that their last weekly rent payments included rent for several days beyond 3rd October 2019 which is when the offence ceased): Applicant 1 £4633.58 Applicant 2 £3885.64 Applicant 3 £3250 from 15.1.19 to 4.10.19. The Applicant has not provided any bank records regarding the period July 2018- 14 Jan 2019. It is stated on her behalf that a friend who was living with her was paying the rent but we have not been provided with such evidence. We have therefore only taken account of the rent for which there is evidence of payment by the Applicant. Applicant 4 £2135 from 8.12.18 to 1.6.19 31. …
An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.
The original
Other rent repayment orders near NG7 7JS · Licensing schemes and register for NG7 7JS
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.