Rent repayment orders › by offence
Illegal eviction
Rent repayment order decisions where the offence was unlawful eviction of a residential occupier (section 1(2), Protection from Eviction Act 1977).
5 of 9 applications on this ground with a known outcome ended in an order (56%). Nearly half did not: they were dismissed, withdrawn, struck out or out of time. The tribunal has to be sure beyond reasonable doubt that the offence was committed.
What the tribunal ordered in England
13 decisions (5 ended in a rent repayment order).
Only 0 decisions with a checked amount. That is too few to show a pattern.
| All | Before 5 Sep 2022 | Since 5 Sep 2022 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ended in a rent repayment order | 56% 5 of 9 | – | 56% 5 of 9 |
| Typical amount ordered, per applicant | – | – | – |
| Typical amount ordered, per decision | – | – | – |
| Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award | – | – | – |
No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.
"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.
"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".
The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.
The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.
Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.
Other offences
- Unlicensed HMO
- Unlicensed house (selective licensing)
- Harassment
- Improvement notice not complied with
- Prohibition order not complied with
- Violence for securing entry
- Breach of a banning order
- Misuse of a possession ground
- Breach of letting rules
- Other
Decisions
Search by postcode or browse by local authority for the rest.
Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.
| Address | Offence | Landlord | Rent pcm | Maximum | Per applicant | Ordered, total | Applicants | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Flat 1, 48 Cambridge Road, Southampton, Hampshire, SO14 6US Read the reasoning period not stated | Illegal eviction | company Smart Homes Southampton Limited |
Dismissed | 1 | 21 May 2026 | ||||
| Colonial Building, 59-61 Hatton Garden Rear Building, London, EC1N 8LS Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | company | Not clear | 1 | 6 Mar 2026 | ||||
| Flat 301, Hive House, Capital Interchange Way, Brentford, TW8 0SL Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 26 Jan 2026 | ||||
| 5C, Greville Road, London. NW6 5HY Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Illegal eviction | individual | £1,320.12 | £660.06 | £1,320.12 | 2 | 100% | 19 Dec 2025 | |
| Room 4, 21 St Albans Road, Cambridge, CB4 2HF Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | company and individuals VA Invest Limited |
Struck out | 1 | 19 Nov 2025 | ||||
| 17 Highfield Road, Rowley Regis, West Midlands, B65 0BU Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Illegal eviction | individual | £1,204.56 | £1,144.33 | £1,144.33 | 1 | 95% | 7 May 2025 | |
| 49 Watlands View, Newcastle under Lyme, ST5 8AB Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Illegal eviction | individual | £1,120 | £1,120 | 1 | 31 Jan 2024 | |||
| 46 Curlew, Aylesbury, HP19 0WG Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | company | Other ruling | 2 | 23 Oct 2023 | ||||
| 37 Montfort Place London SW19 6QN Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Illegal eviction | individual | £6,005 | £6,005 | 1 | 22 Sep 2023 | |||
| Flat 3, Walter Tull Court, 51 Repton Street, London, E14. 7FU Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Illegal eviction | individual | £4,600 | £1,000 | £1,000 | 1 | 22% | 25 Jul 2023 | |
| 8a-8b Avery Row, W1K 4AL Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | individual | Out of time or no jurisdiction | 1 | 7 Jun 2023 | ||||
| 29 Charley Avenue, Stanmore, Middx HA7 3RA Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | not stated | Not clear | None | 3 Mar 2023 | ||||
| 109 Broadley Street, London NW88BA Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | individual | Not clear | 3 | 27 Jan 2023 | ||||
Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.
The rules on who can apply and when are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK.