Flats at Cotton Mills, Radford Boulevard, Nottingham, NG7 3BR and others
BIR/00FY/HMF/2022/0020 · Nottingham · decided 18 Jul 2023 · rent repayment order
old rulesfigures not yet checked| Offence | Unlicensed HMO; also unlicensed house (selective licensing) |
|---|---|
| Landlord | Company: Clarendon Cotton Mill Limited |
| Applicants | 13 tenants |
| Rent | not stated as one figure |
| Period the order relates to | 11 Mar 2022 to 18 Aug 2022 |
| Maximum the tribunal could award | not stated as one figure; £2,466.58 then deducted for utilities |
| Amount the tribunal ordered | £1,182.54 per applicant on average; £15,373.08 in total for 13 applicants |
| Share of the maximum | not stated |
| Tribunal fees to be reimbursed | £750 |
| Rules | Old rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent. |
Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the amount hasn't been checked yet and is left out of the statistics, so compare it with the original.
From the tribunal's reasons on the amount
31 In accordance with section 44(2) of the 2016 Act, the amount of an order must relate to rent paid in a period, not exceeding 12 months, during which the landlord was committing an offence under section 72(1) or section 95(1) of the 2004 Act. … 32 In accordance with section 44(3) of the 2016 Act, the amount that the landlord is required to repay in respect of a period must not exceed the rent paid by the tenant in respect of that period less any relevant award of universal credit paid (to any person) in respect of rent under the tenancy during that period. … Moreover, in some cases the tenancy summary sheets refer to a non- refundable ‘booking deposit’ of £250.00, comprising a utilities contribution of £100.00 and an advanced rent payment of £150.00 to be credited to the tenant’s rental account. However, the bank statement evidence provided by the Applicants shows that only three of the Applicants paid the ‘booking deposit’ and there is no consistent application of the suggestion that the first rental payment would be reduced by £150.00. 34 The Tribunal takes the view that, in the light of section 44(3), the appropriate approach is to use as the starting point the rental payments for which each Applicant has provided bank statement evidence. …
An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.
The original
Other rent repayment orders near NG7 3BR · Licensing schemes and register for NG7 3BR
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.