Rent Rise Check

← Back

29b Landseer Road, London, N19 4JU

LON/00AU/HMF/2025/0716 · Islington · decided 21 Apr 2026 · rent repayment order

old rules
OffenceUnlicensed HMO
LandlordCompany: Palais Europe Ltd
Applicants2 tenants
Rentnot stated as one figure
Period the order relates to20 Jul 2024 to 12 Mar 2025
Maximum the tribunal could awardnot stated as one figure (or not yet checked); £350 then deducted for utilities
Amount the tribunal ordered£4,049.97 per applicant on average; £8,099.94 in total for 2 applicants
Share of the maximum65%, as the tribunal stated it
Tribunal fees to be reimbursed£337
RulesOld rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent.

Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the maximum is left out of the statistics until it has been checked.

From the tribunal's reasons on the amount

of the RRO the Tribunal must, in particular, take into account the conduct of the respective parties, the financial circumstances of the landlord, and whether the landlord has at any time been convicted of any of the relevant offences. The Respondent did not provide any information about their financial circumstances and there is no suggestion they have any previous convictions. … Neither the Applicants nor the Respondent were aware of this until a notice of eviction was served on the Applicants on 2nd February 2025 informing them that they would be evicted on 17th February 2025. … This came as a considerable shock to both the Applicants and the Respondent. … She sought to keep the Applicants informed but, understandably, they were not sure whether to accept her reassurances and pursued their own action. … Fortunately, on the same day as the application, the mortgagees’ solicitors, TLT LLP, phoned the First Applicant to say that they would grant an extension to 4th April 2025. This was confirmed by letter dated 5th February 2025. … Further, while looking into what they could do, they found out that the property should have had, but did not have, an HMO licence. Therefore, on 22nd February 2025 they gave notice to quit in accordance with the break clause contained in their tenancy agreements. …

An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.

The original

Other rent repayment orders near N19 4JU · Licensing schemes and register for N19 4JU

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

The rules are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK.