Rent repayment orders in Camden
What the tribunal ordered in Camden
79 decisions (68 ended in a rent repayment order). In 61 the amount ordered has been checked.
| All | Before 5 Sep 2022 | Since 5 Sep 2022 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ended in a rent repayment order | 88% 68 of 77 | 94% 47 of 50 | 78% 21 of 27 |
| Typical amount ordered, per applicant | £3,700 n=61 | £4,041 n=41 | £3,413 n=20 |
| Typical amount ordered, per decision | £10,312 n=61, typically 3 applicants | £10,819 n=41, typically 4 applicants | £7,683 n=20, typically 3 applicants |
| Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award | 70% n=23 | 75% n=15 | 67% n=8 |
No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.
"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.
"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".
The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.
By offence
| Offence | Decisions | Ended in an order | Typical amount ordered, per applicant | Typical amount ordered, per decision |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unlicensed HMO | 69 | 93% 63 of 68 | £4,036 n=57 | £10,611 n=57, typically 3 applicants |
| Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | 2 | too few 2 of 2 | too few n=1 | too few n=1 |
| Illegal eviction | 5 | 60% 3 of 5 | too few n=3 | too few n=3 |
| Harassment | 2 | too few 0 of 2 | too few n=0 | too few n=0 |
The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.
Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.
Download these as a PDF The figures and the list below, with a GOV.UK link for every decision: something you can attach to an RRO1 application. Individual landlords are not named in it.
Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.
| Address | Offence | Landlord | Rent pcm | Maximum | Per applicant | Ordered, total | Applicants | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apartment 4, 202 Regent's Park Road, London, NW1 8AE Read the reasoning period not stated | Illegal eviction | company City Accommodations Re Ltd |
Dismissed | 2 | 17 Aug 2026 | ||||
| 12 Pratt Street, Camden, London, NW1 0AB Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,878.33 | £12,809.04 | £9,606.78 | £9,606.78 | 1 | 75% | 28 Jul 2026 |
| 6 Smyrna Mansions, Smyrna Road, London, NW6 4LU Read the reasoning period not stated | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £7,476 | £2,242.80 | £2,242.80 | 1 | 30% | 26 May 2026 | |
| Colonial Building, 59-61 Hatton Garden Rear Building, London, EC1N 8LS Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | company | Dismissed | 1 | 6 Mar 2026 | ||||
| 5C, Greville Road, London. NW6 5HY Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | individual | £1,700 | £1,320.12 | £1,320.12 | £1,320.12 | 1 | 100% | 19 Dec 2025 |
| 4 Carters Close, Torriano Avenue, London NW5 2ST Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company | £802.17 | £802.17 | 1 | 2 Oct 2025 | |||
| (x5) 102 Priory Road, London, NW6 3NS Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company | £2,397.86 | £16,785 | 7 | 22 Sep 2025 | |||
| Flat 4, 14 Argyle Walk, London WC1H 8HA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £35,400 | £6,188.25 | £24,753 | 4 | 70% | 18 Aug 2025 | |
| Maryon Mews, 21A South End Road, London NW3 2PT Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Rasons Investments Ltd |
£3,250 | £39,000 | £5,850 | £23,400 | 4 | 60% | 4 Aug 2025 |
| Flat 7 Grafton Mansions, Dukes Road, London, WC1H 9AB Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £29,290 | £2,654 | £7,962 | 3 | 27% | 14 Jul 2025 | |
| Flat 28, Gordon Mansions, Torrington Place, London, WC1E 7HF Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £7,150 | £69,345.21 | £12,713.29 | £38,139.87 | 3 | 55% | 29 Apr 2025 |
| Fifth Floor, 35-37 William Road, London NW1 3ER Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company | £1,000 | £5,760 | £5,760 | 1 | 9 Apr 2025 | ||
| Flat 6, 102-104 Whitfield Street, London, W1T 5EB Read the reasoning old rules | Harassment | individual | £1,735 | Dismissed | 1 | 2 Dec 2024 | |||
| Floor 2, 35-37 William Road, London NW1 3ER Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Global 100 Limited |
£3,427 | £10,281 | 3 | 23 Sep 2024 | |||
| First Floor Flat, 155 Fordwych Road, London, NW2 3NG Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Suburban Properties Limited |
£2,816.67 | £30,389.17 | £6,584.33 | £19,753 | 3 | 65% | 30 Jul 2024 |
| Flat 14, Aberdeen Mansions, Kenton Street, London WC1N 1NN Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £4,035.73 | £12,107.20 | 3 | 23 Jul 2024 | |||
| Ground Floor and Basement, 33, Betterton Street, London WC2H 9BQ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Betterton Duplex Ltd |
Dismissed | 3 | 15 May 2024 | ||||
| 4 Hermit Place, London NW6 4BZ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company | £650 | £3,399.45 | £3,399.45 | 1 | 23 Aug 2023 | ||
| Flat 3, Walter Tull Court, 51 Repton Street, London, E14. 7FU Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | individual | £800 | £1,000 | £1,000 | 1 | 25 Jul 2023 | ||
| 43 Frognal Court, Finchley Road, London, NW3 5HG Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,400 | £28,800 | £6,720 | £20,160 | 3 | 70% | 1 Jul 2023 |
| 104 D Euston street NW1 2HA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,060 | £3,060 | 1 | 14 Jun 2023 | |||
| (x2) Flat 168, Wendling, Haverstock Road, London, NW5 4QY Read the reasoning | Not stated | not stated | Figures not available, see the original decision | 5 May 2023 | |||||
| 105C Fordwych Rd NW2 3TL Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,200 | £800 | £3,200 | 4 | 11 Apr 2023 | ||
| Room 23, Third Floor, 16 Brooke Street, London EC1N 7RB Read the reasoning old rules | Harassment | company Origin Housing Ltd |
Dismissed | 1 | 13 Mar 2023 | ||||
| Flat 1_51A Nimrod Road Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £800 | Dismissed | 1 | 13 Feb 2023 | |||
| Flat 12, Newton House, Abbey Road, London NW8 0AH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £740 | £3,700 | £3,700 | 1 | 14 Nov 2022 | ||
| Flat 11 Soane Court, St Pancras Way, London NW1 9EG Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals Beachstone Properties Limited |
£1,088.93 | £5,444.65 | 5 | 4 Nov 2022 | |||
| (x2) Flat 2, 41 Calthorpe Street, London, WC1X 0JX & Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Drumlin Limited |
£2,578 | £10,312 | 4 | 8 Sep 2022 | |||
| Room 2, Flat 131 Penshurst Buildings, Queens Crescent, NW5 3QJ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £750 | £1,730.75 | £1,730.75 | 1 | 1 Sep 2022 | ||
| Basement Flat 133 Fellows Road, London NW33JJ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £5,112 | £5,112 | £5,112 | 1 | 100% | 5 Aug 2022 | |
| 28 Monica Shaw Court, 31 Purchese Street, London NW1 1EY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,683.33 | Other ruling | 1 | 18 Jul 2022 | |||
| 4 Lock Mews, London NW1 9AD Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | company London Rooms (Alterna Limited) |
£900 | £3,600 | £3,600 | £3,600 | 1 | 100% | 14 Jun 2022 |
| Fourth Floor, 35-37 William Road, London NW1 3ER Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Global 100 Limited |
Out of time or no jurisdiction | 1 | 13 May 2022 | ||||
| Ground Floor Flat, 270 Camden Road, London, NW1 9AB Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company O’Neill Investments Limited |
£30,000 | £5 | £50 | 10 | 0% | 3 Mar 2022 | |
| 56B Marquis Road, Camden, London NW1 8UB Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £5,488 | £16,464 | 3 | 18 Feb 2022 | |||
| 12 Hadley Street, London NW1 8SS Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £4,333 | £51,996 | £10,399.20 | £51,996 | 5 | 100% | 25 Nov 2021 |
| Flat 230, Levita House, Chalton Street, London, NW1 1HN Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £33,919.40 | £6,360 | £25,440 | 4 | 75% | 24 Nov 2021 | |
| 156 West End Lane, London NW6 1SD Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Oaksure Property Protection Limited |
£4,719.26 | £28,315.57 | 6 | 8 Nov 2021 | |||
| 44 York Rise, London NW5 1SB Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £4,083.28 | £42.86 | £300 | 7 | 7% | 18 Oct 2021 | |
| 21 Fortess Grove, London NW5 2HD Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals | £881.83 | £4,299.81 | £8,599.62 | 2 | 16 Sep 2021 | ||
| 23 Lydford House, Royal College Street, London. NW1 0SA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,340 | £28,080 | £9,360 | £28,080 | 3 | 100% | 12 Jul 2021 |
| Flat 33 Hillside Court 409 Finchley Road London NW3 6HQ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £939 | £11,268 | £11,268 | £11,268 | 1 | 100% | 10 Jul 2021 |
| 3rd Floor, 35-37 William Road, London, NW1 3ER Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company | £1,500 | £100,000 | £2,083.95 | £6,251.85 | 3 | 6% | 6 Jul 2021 |
| 42 Kings Gardens, London, NW6 4PX Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £6,858.27 | £34,291.35 | 5 | 21 Jun 2021 | |||
| 187 Fordwych Road, London, NW2 3NH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,920.67 | £5,807.17 | £34,843 | 6 | 18 Jun 2021 | ||
| 12 Bransdale Close, London NW6 4QH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,392.15 | £5,568.61 | 4 | 2 Jun 2021 | |||
| 1 Colva Walk, London N19 5DB Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,120 | £3,816 | £19,080 | 5 | 7 Apr 2021 | ||
| Flat J, 249 Fordwych Road, London NW2 3LY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals | £1,516.67 | Dismissed | 3 | 31 Mar 2021 | |||
| 30 Phipps House White City Estate W 12 7 QE Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £5,633.22 | £22,532.86 | 4 | 22 Mar 2021 | |||
| 8 Rochester Court, Rochester Sq Camden NW1 9EL Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company Metro Muves Ltd |
3 | 9 Mar 2021 | |||||
| 8 Rochester Court, Rochester Sq Camden NW1 9EL Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Metro Muves Ltd |
£3,523.33 | £10,570 | 3 | 9 Mar 2021 | |||
| Flat 2c Gate Street, London WC2A 3HP Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals Flat Sharing Limited |
£3,822.54 | £22,935.26 | 6 | 10 Feb 2021 | |||
| 6 Rosemary House, Leighton Road, Camden NW5 2UX Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,122.27 | £10,611.37 | 5 | 18 Nov 2020 | |||
| 28 Malden Crescent, London NW1 8HD & 0091 Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £800 | 4 | 25 Jun 2020 | ||||
| Flat 22, 46 Britannia Street London WC1X 9JH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals | £1,266.67 | £7,600 | 6 | 3 Apr 2020 | |||
| Flat 14 Hogarth Court, St. Pancras Way, London NW1 9EH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals RentaroominLondon Limited |
£737 | £8,326 | £8,326 | 1 | 5 Feb 2020 | ||
| Flat 28 Laney House, Portpool Lane, London EC1N 7UL Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,900 | £46,800 | £6,552 | £32,760 | 5 | 70% | 27 Jan 2020 |
| Flat (above) 7 Brecknock Road, London N7 0BL Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,145 | £25,740 | £1,666.67 | £5,000 | 3 | 19% | 20 Jan 2020 |
| 46a Eversholt Street, London NW1 1DA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,466.66 | £4,400 | £17,600 | 4 | 16 Jan 2020 | ||
| Flat 50 Troutbeck, Albany Street, London NW1 4EH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,448.33 | Dismissed | 3 | 23 Dec 2019 | |||
| 236D Finchley Road, London NW3 6DJ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,383.33 | £28,599.96 | £4,355 | £17,420 | 4 | 61% | 14 Nov 2019 |
| Flat C, 302 Kilburn High Road, London NW6 2DB Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £722.14 | £8,665.71 | £2,166.43 | £2,166.43 | 1 | 25% | 2 Aug 2019 |
| 29 Leighton Road, London, NW5 2QG Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company ORL Holdings Ltd |
£3,878.33 | £5,798.80 | £28,994 | 5 | 25 Jul 2019 | ||
| Flat 1 Wilson House, 161-169 Goldhurst Terrace, London NW6 3ET Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £20,686.26 | £4,041.41 | £20,207.07 | 5 | 98% | 22 Jul 2019 | |
| Flat 15 Hillside Court, 409 Finchley Road NW3 6HG Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £6,552 | £13,104 | 2 | 8 Jul 2019 | |||
| Flat 88 Regency Lodge, Adelaide Road, London NW3 5ED Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company AGM Investors Ltd |
£3,025.24 | £21,176.66 | 7 | 2 Jul 2019 | |||
| Flat B, 59-61 Camden High Street, London NW1 7JL Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Abbee Ltd |
£2,166.67 | £4,332 | £12,996 | 3 | 20 Jun 2019 | ||
| 21 Newton House, Abbey Road, London NW8 0AH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals Chalk Farm Investments Limited |
£2,101.66 | £1,039.75 | £4,159 | 4 | 26 Mar 2019 | ||
| Flat D, 7 Inglewood Road, London NW6 1QT Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,733.33 | £5,200 | 3 | 4 Mar 2019 | |||
| 17a Prince of Wales Road, Kentish Town, London NW5 3LH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,386.44 | £3,322 | £9,966 | 3 | 27 Nov 2018 | ||
| 3 Borrowdale, Robert Street, London NW1 3QG Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,999 | £21,394.03 | £5,348.51 | £21,394.03 | 4 | 100% | 16 Nov 2018 |
| Flat 62 Godwin Court, Crowndale Road, London NW1 1NW Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,033.33 | £1,085 | £4,340 | 4 | 22 Oct 2018 | ||
| Flats 5 & 6, 11-13 Camden High Street NW1 7JE & 0015 Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £5,352.41 | £53,524.13 | 10 | 29 Aug 2018 | |||
| 8 Ivybridge Court, Lewis Street, London NW1 8PX Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £4,917.43 | £19,669.72 | 4 | 9 Aug 2018 | |||
| Flat 5, 47 Fitzroy Street, London W1T 6LA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,665 | £1,500 | £4,500 | 3 | 17 Jul 2018 | ||
| 97 Burnham Tower, Fellows Road, London NW3 3JP Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £2,300 | £1,865.19 | £580.93 | £580.93 | 1 | 31% | 20 Mar 2018 |
| 49 Cartmel, Hampstead Road, London NW1 3SH Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals Monsoon Properties Limited |
£2,704.85 | £10,819.40 | 4 | 14 Mar 2018 | |||
| Flat 14, 87 Abbey Road, London NW8 0AG Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company | £1,572 | £1,572 | £1,572 | 1 | 100% | 26 Oct 2017 | |
| 2 Hurdwick Place, NW1 2JE Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Kingscroft Estates LLP |
£12,716 | £1,590.75 | £6,363 | 4 | 50% | 27 Feb 2017 | |
Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.
The tribunal's approach to the amount, and the rules on who can apply and when, are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK. Had a rent increase instead? What the rent tribunal decided nearby.