Rent Rise Check

Rent repayment orders near E3 3EL

Based on 31 decisions within 2 km of E3 3EL, decided between July 2016 and June 2026.

The search widens from 2 km (to 5, 10 km, then the local authority) until at least 10 decisions have a checked amount. See all of Tower Hamlets.

Thinking of applying? Make a rent repayment order pack: the licensing position for the address, the most the tribunal could order from your rent and dates, what tribunals ordered for the same offence, the most comparable orders near you with the tribunal's reasoning, the time limit and form RRO1, as one PDF to print. Nothing you enter is stored unless you ask for a reminder, and then only your email and the date.

Make a rent repayment order pack Just the calculator

What the tribunal ordered within 2 km

31 decisions (25 ended in a rent repayment order). In 25 the amount ordered has been checked.

"Typical" means the median: half the decisions are above it and half below. n is the number of decisions a figure comes from.

81% of applications with a known outcome ended in an order 25 of 31 decisions
£4,219 typical amount ordered, per applicant median, n=24
AllBefore 5 Sep 2022Since 5 Sep 2022
Ended in a rent repayment order81% 25 of 3189% 17 of 1967% 8 of 12
Typical amount ordered, per applicant£4,219 n=24£4,219 n=16£4,612 n=8
Typical amount ordered, per decision£6,600 n=25, typically 2 applicants£6,300 n=17, typically 2 applicants£12,466 n=8, typically 3 applicants
Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award84% n=1796% n=1161% n=6

By offence

OffenceDecisionsEnded in an orderTypical amount ordered, per applicantTypical amount ordered, per decision
Unlicensed HMO26 88% 23 of 26 £4,275 n=23 £6,720 n=23, typically 2 applicants
Unlicensed house (selective licensing)2 too few 2 of 2 too few n=1 too few n=2
Illegal eviction1 too few 0 of 1 – –
Harassment1 too few 0 of 1 – –
Violence for securing entry1 too few 0 of 1 – –

The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

How these figures are counted

No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.

"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.

"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".

The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.

Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.

The figures and the list below, with a GOV.UK link for every decision: something you can attach to an RRO1 application. Individual landlords are not named in it.

Download these as a PDF

Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.

AddressOffenceLandlord Rent pcmMaximumPer applicantOrdered, totalApplicantsShare
20 Tomlins Grove, London, E3 4NX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £4,520£54,240 £5,907 £47,256 8 87% 23 Jul 2021 0.4 km
14 Trellis Square, London, E3 2DR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £19,125 £4,462.50 £13,387.50 3 70% 25 Oct 2021 0.8 km
(x3) 43 Parnell Road, London, E3 2RS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £25,325 £5,784.83 £17,354.50 3 68% 18 Aug 2025 0.9 km
1 Celtic Street, London, E14 6QB Read the reasoning old rules Illegal eviction individual Struck out1 13 Dec 2023 1.0 km
Flat 3 Ladyfern House, Gale Street, London E3 3RQ Read the reasoning old rules Violence for securing entry individual Dismissed1 9 May 2025 1.0 km
Flat 43 Iron Works, 58 Dace Road, London E3 2NX V Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £671.66£2,447.98 £2,447.98 £2,447.98 1 100% 11 Feb 2021 1.1 km
69 Brabazon Street, London, E14 6BL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £4,550 £4,550 £4,550 1 100% 31 Aug 2021 1.2 km
118 Broomfield Street, Poplar, Tower Hamlets, E14 6BQ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,550£30,600 £8,160 £24,480 3 80% 7 May 2026 1.2 km
44 Broomfield Street, London E14 6BQ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £715£4,313.50 £4,163.50 £4,163.50 1 96% 18 Mar 2021 1.2 km
Flat 5, Waverton House, Jodrell Road, London, E3 2LG Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual Dismissed1 27 Mar 2023 1.4 km
Flat 6A Max House, 1 Canning Road, London E15 3NW Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application Unlicensed house (selective licensing) company
Luxcool Limited
£1,300 £3,942.84 council 13 Jul 2017 1.4 km
Flat 6, Albany Works, Gunmakers Lane, London, E3 5SB Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,993.84 £8,981.52 3 6 Apr 2022 1.5 km
(x3) 1 Driffield Road, London, E3 5NE (1), (2), (3). Read the reasoning period not stated Unlicensed HMO individual £22,800 £3,440 £10,320 3 45% 22 Jun 2026 1.5 km
6 Dennison Point, Gibbins Road, Stratford, London E15 2LY Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £460£5,365 £4,800 £4,800 1 90% 27 Jul 2016 1.6 km
2 Printers Mews, London E3 5NZ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £7,305.60 £14,611.20 2 2 Feb 2026 1.6 km
1A Haverfield Rd London E3 5BH Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £6,875 £27,500 4 25 Sep 2023 1.6 km
Flat 206 Harley House, 11 Frances Wharf, London E14 7FP Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £1,100 £3,550 £3,550 1 6 Oct 2021 1.7 km
Flat 20, Galveston House, Harford Street, London. E1 4RH Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals
City Hive (UK) Ltd
Struck out3 10 Feb 2022 1.7 km
13 Wooster Gardens, London E14 0PJ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £7,063.29 £643.50 £3,217.48 5 46% 20 Dec 2019 1.8 km
242 Leanmore Court, 1 Meath Crescent, London, E2 0QA Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £1,950£11,090 £2,200 £6,600 3 60% 17 Feb 2020 1.8 km
Flat 13, Lakeview Estate, Old Ford Road, London E3 5TB Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £525 £6,300 £6,300 1 11 Aug 2021 1.8 km
53 Hilda Road, London E16 4NQ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £2,150£19,350 £967.50 £2,902.50 3 15% 11 Mar 2024 1.8 km
105 Rhodeswell Road, London E147TW Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals
EMPL Property Management Limited
£8,550 £4,275 £8,550 2 100% 17 Mar 2022 1.8 km
Room 3, 197A, East India Dock Road, E14 0ED Read the reasoning period not stated Harassment individual £850Dismissed1 11 May 2026 1.8 km
Flat 4 Timor House, Duckett Street, London E1 4SP Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
City Move Properties Limited
£607£2,868 £2,404.18 £2,404.18 1 84% 3 Jul 2023 1.9 km
4 Weddell House, Duckett Street, London E1 4LT Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,029Dismissed5 16 Mar 2022 1.9 km
116 Meath Road, London E15 3DR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £4,650.69 £2,520.41 £2,520.41 1 54% 25 Nov 2024 1.9 km
22 Durham Road, London E16 4NF Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
L Hub London Ltd
£560£6,720 £6,720 £6,720 1 100% 3 Nov 2021 1.9 km
22 Durham Road, London E16 4NF Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £7,530 £15,060 2 4 Aug 2021 1.9 km
Flat 301 Lighterman Point, 3 New Village Avenue, London E14 0ND Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,533.33 £2,533.33 £2,533.33 1 100% 15 Mar 2022 1.9 km
Flat 2, Bantry House, Ernest Street, London, E1 4QX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals
Joes Property Limited
£4,074.80 £20,374 5 19 Aug 2021 2.0 km

Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.

Email me when a new decision is published near E3 3EL.

The tribunal's approach to the amount, and the rules on who can apply and when, are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK. Had a rent increase instead? What the rent tribunal decided nearby.