Rent repayment orders in Brighton and Hove
What the tribunal ordered in Brighton and Hove
12 decisions (7 ended in a rent repayment order). In 6 the amount ordered has been checked.
Only 6 decisions with a checked amount. That is too few to show a pattern.
| All | Before 5 Sep 2022 | Since 5 Sep 2022 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ended in a rent repayment order | 88% 7 of 8 | 100% 6 of 6 | too few 1 of 2 |
| Typical amount ordered, per applicant | £2,180 n=6 | £1,560 n=5 | too few n=1 |
| Typical amount ordered, per decision | £7,500 n=6, typically 3 applicants | £7,200 n=5, typically 3 applicants | too few n=1 |
| Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award | too few n=4 | too few n=3 | too few n=1 |
No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.
"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.
"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".
The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.
By offence
| Offence | Decisions | Ended in an order | Typical amount ordered, per applicant | Typical amount ordered, per decision |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unlicensed HMO | 6 | 83% 5 of 6 | too few n=4 | too few n=4 |
| Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | 1 | too few 1 of 1 | too few n=1 | too few n=1 |
| Illegal eviction | 1 | too few 1 of 1 | too few n=1 | too few n=1 |
| Harassment | 1 | too few 0 of 0 | too few n=0 | too few n=0 |
| Other | 1 | too few 0 of 0 | too few n=0 | too few n=0 |
The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.
Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.
Download these as a PDF The figures and the list below, with a GOV.UK link for every decision: something you can attach to an RRO1 application. Individual landlords are not named in it.
Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.
| Address | Offence | Landlord | Rent pcm | Maximum | Per applicant | Ordered, total | Applicants | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Knoll House, Ingram Crescent West, Hove, East Sussex, BN3 5NX (1) Read the reasoning | Not stated | not stated | Figures not available, see the original decision | 27 Jan 2025 | |||||
| Flat 3, 24 Albert Road, Brighton BN1 3RN Read the reasoning | Not stated | not stated | Figures not available, see the original decision | 10 Dec 2024 | |||||
| 55 Roedale Road, Brighton, East Sussex, BN1 7GB Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 31 Jul 2024 | ||||
| 8 New Steine Mansions, Devonshire Place, Brighton, BN2 1QJ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Homemakers Property Ltd |
£1,750 | £21,000 | £2,800 | £8,400 | 3 | 40% | 30 Mar 2023 |
| Room 4, Top Floor Flat, 48 Lansdowne Place, Hove BN3 1HH Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Harassment | individual | £595 | £7,140 | £5,600 | £5,600 | 1 | 78% | 18 Nov 2022 |
| 7B Madehurst Close, Brighton, BN2 0YR Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals Rogerson Investment Limited |
£75 | £300 | 4 | 22 Feb 2022 | |||
| Royal View, 80 Grand Parade. Brighton, BN2 9JA Read the reasoning old rules | Other | not stated | Other ruling | 1 | 11 Jun 2021 | ||||
| Upper Maisonette, 29 Egremont Place, Brighton BN2 0GA Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Link Up Lettings Ltd |
£1,800 | £3,600 | £10,800 | 3 | 27 May 2021 | ||
| Flat 1, 20-22 Gloucester Place, Brighton BN1 4AA Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | individual | £600 | £7,200 | £7,200 | £7,200 | 1 | 100% | 19 Mar 2021 |
| 5 Brading Road, Brighton, BN2 3PE Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,500 | £15,870.97 | £700 | £2,100 | 3 | 13% | 17 Dec 2019 |
| 24 The Drove, Brighton, BN1 5AF Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £10,450 | £666.66 | £1,999.98 | 3 | 19% | 31 Oct 2019 | |
| 2 Natal Road, Brighton, BN2 4BN /0002/0003/0007/0008 Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £520 | £1,560 | £7,800 | 5 | 4 Sep 2019 | ||
Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.
The tribunal's approach to the amount, and the rules on who can apply and when, are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK. Had a rent increase instead? What the rent tribunal decided nearby.