Rent repayment orders in Newham
What the tribunal ordered in Newham
75 decisions (59 ended in a rent repayment order). In 59 the amount ordered has been checked.
| All | Before 5 Sep 2022 | Since 5 Sep 2022 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ended in a rent repayment order | 84% 59 of 70 | 90% 38 of 42 | 75% 21 of 28 |
| Typical amount ordered, per applicant | £3,792 n=38 | £4,918 n=17 | £3,250 n=21 |
| Typical amount ordered, per decision | £6,390 n=59, typically 1 applicant | £6,668 n=38, typically 1 applicant | £3,952 n=21, typically 2 applicants |
| Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award | 83% n=33 | 100% n=20 | 54% n=13 |
No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.
"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.
"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".
The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.
By offence
| Offence | Decisions | Ended in an order | Typical amount ordered, per applicant | Typical amount ordered, per decision |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unlicensed HMO | 27 | 88% 22 of 25 | £4,160 n=21 | £5,978 n=22, typically 1 applicant |
| Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | 35 | 91% 31 of 34 | £3,250 n=11 | £6,500 n=31, typically 1 applicant |
| Illegal eviction | 2 | too few 2 of 2 | too few n=2 | too few n=2 |
| Harassment | 6 | 50% 3 of 6 | too few n=3 | too few n=3 |
| Improvement notice not complied with | 2 | too few 0 of 2 | too few n=0 | too few n=0 |
| Other | 1 | too few 1 of 1 | too few n=1 | too few n=1 |
The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.
Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.
Download these as a PDF The figures and the list below, with a GOV.UK link for every decision: something you can attach to an RRO1 application. Individual landlords are not named in it.
Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.
| Address | Offence | Landlord | Rent pcm | Maximum | Per applicant | Ordered, total | Applicants | Share | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 32A Little Ilford Lane, London, E12 5PW Read the reasoning old rules | Other | individual | £410 | £4,100 | £307.50 | £615 | 2 | 15% | 23 Jul 2026 |
| 147 Strone Road, London, E7 8ET Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 5 May 2026 | ||||
| 49 George Court, 3 Shackleton Way, London E16 2XL Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company | £1,800 | £1,800 | 1 | 20 Apr 2026 | |||
| 327 Tollgate Road, London, E6 5YF Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals Signature Lettings Ltd |
£600 | £5,390.40 | £5,390.40 | 1 | 5 Feb 2026 | ||
| 72 Emily Duncan Place, Woodgrange Road, Forest Gate, London, E7 0BB Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,450 | £1,607.25 | £1,607.25 | 1 | 27 Oct 2025 | ||
| 64 Atkinson Road, Newham, London E16 3LS Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | Dismissed | 4 | 7 Oct 2025 | ||||
| 20b St Georges Road, Forest Gate, Newham, London E7 8HY Read the reasoning old rules | Improvement notice not complied with | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 29 Sep 2025 | ||||
| 146 Osborne Road, London, E7 0PN Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals | £25,200 | £4,410 | £17,640 | 4 | 70% | 28 Jul 2025 | |
| Reconvene 3 Fox Close, London E16 1NU Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £720 | £8,640 | £3,951.86 | £3,951.86 | 1 | 46% | 11 Jun 2025 |
| 7 Plashet Road, London, E13 0PZ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals | Dismissed | 1 | 22 Apr 2025 | ||||
| 23 York Close, London, E6 5QN Read the reasoning old rules | Harassment | individual | Dismissed | 2 | 10 Mar 2025 | ||||
| 26 Emerald Close, London, E16 3TS Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £13,960 | £4,886 | £9,772 | 2 | 70% | 20 Dec 2024 | |
| 92a Hampton Road, London, E7 0NU Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,200 | £2,790 | £2,790 | 1 | 3 Dec 2024 | ||
| 116 Meath Road, London E15 3DR Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £4,650.69 | £2,520.41 | £2,520.41 | 1 | 54% | 25 Nov 2024 | |
| 52B Terrace Road, London, E13 0PB Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,185 | £2,590.40 | £2,590.40 | 1 | 81% | 25 Oct 2024 | |
| 9 Byron Avenue, Manor Park, London, E12 6ST Read the reasoning | Not stated | not stated | Figures not available, see the original decision | 7 Oct 2024 | |||||
| 10 Harland Heights, 1 Wallis Walk, Becton, London, E16 2XR Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company ERG RAW Limited |
£1,225 | £10,000.28 | £3,250 | £6,500 | 2 | 65% | 28 Aug 2024 |
| 30 Croombs Rd London E16 3RY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £3,632.26 | £7,264.52 | 2 | 9 May 2024 | |||
| 53 Hilda Road, London E16 4NQ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £2,150 | £19,350 | £967.50 | £2,902.50 | 3 | 15% | 11 Mar 2024 |
| 331 Tollgate Road E6 5YF Read the reasoning old rules | Harassment | individual | Out of time or no jurisdiction | 1 | 29 Nov 2023 | ||||
| 35 Royal Crest Avenue, London, E16 2SU Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,200 | £3,600 | £1,950 | £1,950 | 1 | 54% | 2 Oct 2023 |
| 52 Wanlip Road, London E13 8QP Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | individual | £6,300 | £12,600 | 2 | 15 Sep 2023 | |||
| 147 Barrier Point Road, London, E16 2SE Read the reasoning old rules | Harassment | individual | £1,450 | £10,800 | £1,868.58 | £3,737.16 | 2 | 35% | 20 Jul 2023 |
| 12 Creighton Avenue, London E6 3DS Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,600 | £19,200 | £4,160 | £12,480 | 3 | 65% | 23 Jun 2023 |
| 27 Bray Drive, London, E16 1LD Read the reasoning | Not stated | not stated | Figures not available, see the original decision | 15 Jun 2023 | |||||
| Flat 169 Effra Gardens E16 1RB Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company | £1,050 | £6,171.18 | £6,171.18 | 1 | 2 Jun 2023 | ||
| 95 Pinnacle House, 4 Schooner Road, London E16 2RF Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £2,621.67 | £250 | £250 | 1 | 19 May 2023 | ||
| 30 Young Road, London E16 3RR Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £750 | £699.50 | £699.50 | 1 | 4 May 2023 | ||
| 66 Creighton Avenue E6 3DS NEW Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £20,645.50 | £2,478.54 | £12,392.70 | 5 | 60% | 17 Mar 2023 | |
| Flat 56, 30 Barking Road London E16 1GQ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £19,760.04 | £4,940.01 | £9,880.02 | 2 | 50% | 16 Jan 2023 | |
| 375 Green Street, London E13 9AU Read the reasoning old rules | Illegal eviction | individual | £300 | £3,600 | £3,600 | £3,600 | 1 | 100% | 21 Dec 2022 |
| 52A, Little Ilford Lane, London E12 5PW Read the reasoning old rules | Improvement notice not complied with | individual | Struck out | 1 | 1 Dec 2022 | ||||
| Flat 1, New Century House, 8 Jude Street, London E16 1FG Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,500 | £11,382.49 | £3,347.37 | £3,347.37 | 1 | 29% | 24 Oct 2022 |
| 174 Upton Lane, London, E7 9NN Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £450 | £2,825 | £2,825 | 1 | 10 Aug 2022 | ||
| Studio 6, 375 Katherine Road, London, E7 8LT Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company Avenues Estates Limited |
£700 | £5,330 | £5,330 | 1 | 17 Jun 2022 | ||
| 44 Abercrombie Road, London E20 1FU Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company and individuals | £3,200 | Dismissed | 5 | 23 Jan 2022 | |||
| Flat 61 Adriatic Apartments, 20 Western Gateway, London E16 1BT Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,325 | £10,335 | £10,335 | 1 | 9 Dec 2021 | ||
| 147 Barrier Point Road, London E16 2SE Read the reasoning old rules | Harassment | individual | £1,200 | £8,400 | £4,200 | £8,400 | 2 | 100% | 25 Nov 2021 |
| 22 Durham Road, London E16 4NF Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company L Hub London Ltd |
£560 | £6,720 | £6,720 | £6,720 | 1 | 100% | 3 Nov 2021 |
| 22 Durham Road, London E16 4NF Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £7,530 | £15,060 | 2 | 4 Aug 2021 | |||
| 101 Maryland Street, E15 1JD Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £700 | £7,350 | £6,615 | £6,615 | 1 | 90% | 21 Jun 2021 |
| 97 Chandos Road, London E15 1TT Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £700 | £5,222.14 | £4,918.38 | £4,918.38 | 1 | 94% | 12 Apr 2021 |
| 147 Barrier Point Road, E16 2SE Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,200 | £7,700 | £3,200 | £6,400 | 2 | 83% | 22 Mar 2021 |
| 5 Elkington Road, London, E13 8LW Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,685.67 | £2,713.69 | £1,356.85 | £2,713.69 | 2 | 100% | 11 Mar 2021 |
| 27 Chesterton Road, London E13 8BA Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £699.28 | £8,391.39 | £8,323.15 | council | 99% | 10 Mar 2021 | |
| 40 Eastbourne Road, London E6 6AT V Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £530 | £5,785.77 | £5,785.77 | £5,785.77 | 1 | 100% | 26 Jan 2021 |
| 63 Bolton Road, London E15 4JY Read the reasoning old rules | Harassment | individual | Dismissed | 1 | 15 Oct 2020 | ||||
| 12 Marmara Apartments, 13 Western Gateway, London E16 1AJ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £1,200 | £3,590.14 | £1,729.52 | £3,459.04 | 2 | 96% | 5 Nov 2019 |
| 144 The Oxygen, 18 Western Gateway, London, E16 1BQ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,776.67 | £15,990.03 | £15,990.03 | 1 | 10 Jun 2019 | ||
| Ground floor flat 229 Katherine Road London E6 1BU Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £5,500 | £11,000 | 2 | 25 Mar 2019 | |||
| 21 Geere Road, E15 3PN Read the reasoning old rules | Harassment | individual | £500 | £3,000 | £1,185 | £1,185 | 1 | 40% | 16 Oct 2018 |
| 26 Atherton Road, Forest Green, London E7 9AJ Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | company Let Sell Property Limited |
£560 | £4,326.35 | £2,200 | £2,200 | 1 | 51% | 25 Jul 2018 |
| Flat 6A Max House, 1 Canning Road, London E15 3NW Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | company Luxcool Limited |
£1,300 | £3,942.84 | council | 13 Jul 2017 | |||
| 6 Dennison Point, Gibbins Road, Stratford, London E15 2LY Read the reasoning old rules | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £460 | £5,365 | £4,800 | £4,800 | 1 | 90% | 27 Jul 2016 |
| 19 Wanlip Road, London E13 8QR Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,125.02 | £6,652.99 | £4,573.09 | council | 69% | 13 Jul 2016 | |
| 49 Kelland Road, London, E13 8DS Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £675 | Dismissed | council | 4 Apr 2016 | |||
| 20 Luton Road, E13 8HD Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £850 | £3,517.17 | council | 18 Mar 2016 | |||
| 7 Meadowsweet Close, West Beckton, London E16 3UD Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,100 | £9,918.14 | £9,918.14 | council | 100% | 18 Mar 2016 | |
| Flat 21 Castle point, Boundary Road, Plaistow, London, E13 9PW Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £8,377 | council | 11 Mar 2016 | ||||
| 45 Malvern Road, East Ham, London E6 1LS Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £8,975.47 | council | 11 Mar 2016 | ||||
| 2 New Barn Street, London E13 8JA Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,200 | £13,800.10 | £13,800.10 | council | 100% | 29 Feb 2016 | |
| 138 Coleman Road, Beckton, London, E16 3LZ Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,200 | £2,034.81 | council | 25 Feb 2016 | |||
| 8 Eric Close, Forest Gate, London E7 0AY Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £9,384.43 | council | 24 Feb 2016 | ||||
| 103 Kingsland Road, Plaistow London E13 9NT Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £6,389.91 | council | 16 Feb 2016 | ||||
| First floor flat, 124 Whyteville Road, London E7 9LT Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £8,586.91 | £8,586.91 | council | 100% | 16 Feb 2016 | ||
| 165a Gainsborough Avenue, London E12 6JN Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £9,347.31 | council | 14 Dec 2015 | ||||
| 216 Shrewsbury Road, London E7 8QJ Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,100 | £11,453.75 | £11,453.75 | council | 100% | 28 Sep 2015 | |
| 15 Ripley Road, West Beckton, London E16 3EA Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £950 | £11,152.57 | £11,152.57 | council | 100% | 10 Aug 2015 | |
| 57 Fowler Road, London E7 0AU Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,083.33 | £10,491.11 | £10,491.11 | council | 100% | 3 Aug 2015 | |
| 86A, Wellstead Road, London E6 6DD Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £5,690.13 | council | 13 May 2015 | ||||
| 32 Langdon Road, London E6 2QB Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,400 | £8,891.40 | council | 30 Apr 2015 | |||
| 66 Rosedale Road, London E7 8AT Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £1,075 | £3,053.30 | council | 30 Apr 2015 | |||
| 392A Barking Road, London E13 8HJ Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £650 | Dismissed | council | 26 Mar 2015 | |||
| FFF 3 Skeffington Road, London, E6 2NA Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed house (selective licensing) | individual | £10,200 | £5,100 | council | 50% | 6 Mar 2015 | ||
| 254 Grange Road, E13 0HG Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application | Unlicensed HMO | individual | £6,781.38 | council | 14 Aug 2013 | ||||
Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.
The tribunal's approach to the amount, and the rules on who can apply and when, are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK. Had a rent increase instead? What the rent tribunal decided nearby.