Rent Rise Check

Rent repayment orders in Coventry

What the tribunal ordered in Coventry

25 decisions (23 ended in a rent repayment order). In 17 the amount ordered has been checked.

AllBefore 5 Sep 2022Since 5 Sep 2022
Ended in a rent repayment order100% 23 of 23100% 14 of 14100% 9 of 9
Typical amount ordered, per applicant£1,569 n=17£1,569 n=14too few n=3
Typical amount ordered, per decision£6,540 n=17, typically 5 applicants£8,761 n=14, typically 6 applicantstoo few n=3
Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award41% n=941% n=9–

No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.

"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.

"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".

The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.

By offence

OffenceDecisionsEnded in an orderTypical amount ordered, per applicantTypical amount ordered, per decision
Unlicensed HMO21 100% 21 of 21 £1,569 n=15 £6,540 n=15, typically 5 applicants
Unlicensed house (selective licensing)2 too few 2 of 2 too few n=2 too few n=2
Violence for securing entry1 too few 0 of 0 too few n=0 too few n=0

The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.

Download these as a PDF The figures and the list below, with a GOV.UK link for every decision: something you can attach to an RRO1 application. Individual landlords are not named in it.

Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.

AddressOffenceLandlord Rent pcmMaximumPer applicantOrdered, totalApplicantsShare
Flat 501, Queens Park House, Queens Road, Coventry, CV1 3GX Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed HMO company
Liberty Living Investments 1 Limited
£1,474.54 £5,898.16 4 11 Jun 2024
9 Botoner Road, Coventry, CV1 2DA Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed HMO company
JPS Properties (UK) Limited
£224.96 £1,124.82 5 27 Feb 2023
9 Botoner Road, Coventry, CV1 2DA Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed HMO company
JPS Properties (UK) Limited
£224.96 £1,124.82 5 27 Feb 2023
9 Botoner Road, Coventry, CV1 2DA Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed HMO company
JPS Properties (UK) Limited
£224.96 £1,124.82 5 27 Feb 2023
9 Botoner Road, Coventry, CV1 2DA Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed HMO company
JPS Properties (UK) Limited
£224.96 £1,124.82 5 27 Feb 2023
9 Botoner Road, Coventry, CV1 2DA Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed HMO company
JPS Properties (UK) Limited
£224.96 £1,124.82 5 27 Feb 2023
47 Broomfield Place, Coventry, CV5 6GZ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,066.67 £6,200 3 31 Jan 2023
47 Broomfield Place, Coventry, CV5 6GZ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,066.67 £6,200 3 31 Jan 2023
47 Broomfield Place, Coventry, CV5 6GZ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,066.67 £6,200 3 31 Jan 2023
22 Tutbury Avenue, Coventry, CV4 7BJ Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Violence for securing entry individual £2,800 £2,800 £2,800 1 100% 9 Aug 2022
285 Walsgrave Road, Coventry, CV2 4BE Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £485£5,407 £5,071 £5,071 1 94% 18 Jan 2021
19 St. Margaret Road, Coventry CV1 2BT Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,600 £1,308 £6,540 5 23 Oct 2020
19 St. Margaret Road, Coventry CV1 2BT Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,600 £1,308 £6,540 5 23 Oct 2020
19 St. Margaret Road, Coventry CV1 2BT Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,600 £1,308 £6,540 5 23 Oct 2020
19 St. Margaret Road, Coventry CV1 2BT Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,600 £1,308 £6,540 5 23 Oct 2020
19 St. Margaret Road, Coventry CV1 2BT Read the reasoning Not stated not stated Figures not available, see the original decision 23 Oct 2020
Room 1, 19 St Georges Road, Coventry, CV1 2DJ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £400£991.75 £921.57 £921.57 1 93% 8 Oct 2020
267 St George's Road, Coventry CV1 2DG Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £4,482.50 £1,494.17 £1,494.17 1 33% 17 Apr 2020
5 Cassandra Close, Coventry, West Midlands, CV4 7HN Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £1,568.89 £10,982.25 7 8 Apr 2020
5 Cassandra Close, Coventry, West Midlands, CV4 7HN Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £27,000 £1,568.89 £10,982.25 7 41% 8 Apr 2020
5 Cassandra Close, Coventry, West Midlands, CV4 7HN Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £27,000 £1,568.89 £10,982.25 7 41% 8 Apr 2020
5 Cassandra Close, Coventry, West Midlands, CV4 7HN Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £27,000 £1,568.89 £10,982.25 7 41% 8 Apr 2020
5 Cassandra Close, Coventry, West Midlands, CV4 7HN Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £27,000 £1,568.89 £10,982.25 7 41% 8 Apr 2020
5 Cassandra Close, Coventry, West Midlands, CV4 7HN Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £27,000 £1,568.89 £10,982.25 7 41% 8 Apr 2020
5 Cassandra Close, Coventry, West Midlands, CV4 7HN Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £27,000 £1,568.89 £10,982.25 7 41% 8 Apr 2020

Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.

The tribunal's approach to the amount, and the rules on who can apply and when, are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK. Had a rent increase instead? What the rent tribunal decided nearby.