Rent Rise Check

Rent repayment orders in Bristol, City of

What the tribunal ordered in Bristol, City of

34 decisions (27 ended in a rent repayment order). In 27 the amount ordered has been checked.

AllBefore 5 Sep 2022Since 5 Sep 2022
Ended in a rent repayment order87% 27 of 3183% 10 of 1289% 17 of 19
Typical amount ordered, per applicant£1,946 n=26£1,560 n=9£1,970 n=17
Typical amount ordered, per decision£3,240 n=27, typically 2 applicants£3,040 n=10, typically 2 applicants£3,510 n=17, typically 2 applicants
Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award55% n=1688% n=645% n=10

No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.

"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.

"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".

The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.

By offence

OffenceDecisionsEnded in an orderTypical amount ordered, per applicantTypical amount ordered, per decision
Unlicensed HMO25 87% 20 of 23 £2,020 n=20 £3,812 n=20, typically 2 applicants
Unlicensed house (selective licensing)3 too few 3 of 3 too few n=3 too few n=3
Illegal eviction1 too few 1 of 1 too few n=1 too few n=1
Harassment2 too few 2 of 2 too few n=2 too few n=2
Improvement notice not complied with2 too few 1 of 2 too few n=0 too few n=1

The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.

Download these as a PDF The figures and the list below, with a GOV.UK link for every decision: something you can attach to an RRO1 application. Individual landlords are not named in it.

Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.

AddressOffenceLandlord Rent pcmMaximumPer applicantOrdered, totalApplicantsShare
1 Manor Road, Fishponds, Bristol, BS16 2JD Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £875£1,750 £1,750 £1,750 1 100% 18 Aug 2026
519 Stapleton Road, Eastville, Bristol BS5 6PE Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £480£1,440 £432 £432 1 30% 20 Jul 2026
19 Hurston Road, Bristol BS4 1SU Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,300£2,300 £213.75 £855 4 37% 10 Jul 2026
Rooms 1, 2, 3 & 4, 22 Brislington Hill, Bristol, BS4 5BD Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £6,148 £24,592 4 17 Jun 2026
6 Greenway Drive, Bristol, BS10 5LU Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £750£8,400 £3,780 £3,780 1 45% 22 May 2026
Top Floor Flat, 35 Chandos Road, Bristol, BS6 6PQ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £89.70 £179.40 2 10 Apr 2026
31 Hebron Road, Bedminster, Bristol, BS3 3AD Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £575 £1,969.50 £3,939 2 24 Mar 2026
Flat 3, 4 Beauley Road, Southville, Bristol, BS3 1PX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
TDM Lettings Ltd
£4,500 £2,700 £2,700 1 60% 22 Jan 2026
472 Fishponds Road, Bristol BS16 3DU Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,975 £1,201.33 £6,006.63 5 10 Nov 2025
Room 2, 228 Ridgeway Road, Fishponds, Bristol, BS16 3LP Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Willow Wood Homes Limited
Other ruling1 25 Jul 2025
11 Carters Buildings, Portland Street, Clifton, Bristol, BS8 4JD Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Park Asset Management Limited
£1,700Dismissed3 30 Jun 2025
17 Sommerville Road, Bristol BS7 9AD Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £650£7,800 £3,510 £3,510 1 45% 25 Apr 2025
Flat 7 Horton House, 11 Horton Street, Bristol, BS2 0LA Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £6,405 £1,921.50 £3,843 2 60% 7 Jan 2025
12c Cotham Road, Cotham, Bristol, BS6 6DR Read the reasoning Not stated not stated Figures not available, see the original decision 13 Nov 2024
55A Belle Vue Road, Bristol, BS5 6DR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £1,150£13,800 £2,070 £6,210 3 45% 31 Jul 2024
44 Station Avenue, Bristol, BS16 2DU Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,182.50 £4,365 2 5 Jun 2024
Flat 7 Temple Court, Barton Road, Bristol BS2 0LF Read the reasoning old rules Improvement notice not complied with individual Dismissed2 31 May 2024
Unit 1.15 Paintworks. Arnos Vale, Bristol, BS4 3EH Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £1,650£14,958.49 £2,719.73 £2,719.73 1 18% 30 Apr 2024
Unit 1.15 Paintworks. Arnos Vale, Bristol, BS4 3EH Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £1,868.31 £1,868.31 1 30 Apr 2024
22 Robertson Road, Bristol, BS5 6JY Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed HMO company
Elite Properties Bristol Ltd
£650£7,800 £3,080 £6,160 2 79% 31 Jan 2024
47B, Zetland Road, Redland, Bristol BS6 7AJ 14 Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,400£9,600 £3,200 £9,600 3 100% 19 Oct 2023
3 St Marks Grove, Easton, Bristol BS5 0LJ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £450 £1,080 £3,240 3 22 Nov 2022
201 Easton Road, Bristol, BS5 0EH Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
M G Properties (Bristol) Limited
£1,000£1,271 £1,271.36 £1,271.36 1 100% 29 Jul 2021
12 Whatley Road, Bristol, Avon BS8 2PU Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,742.50 £5,485 2 18 Feb 2021
16 Camden Road, Southville, Bristol BS3 1QA Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £1,700Dismissed1 17 Feb 2021
First Floor Flat, 44 Cromwell Road, Bristol, BS6 5HB Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £1,275£19,803 £1,000 £3,000 3 15% 4 Dec 2020
6 Byron Street, Redfield, Bristol, BS5 9NN Read the reasoning old rules Harassment individual £725£1,950 £1,560 £1,560 1 80% 22 Oct 2020
19 Baptist Street, Bristol, BS7 9TD Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £652.88 £2,611.52 4 30 Sep 2020
2nd Floor Flat, 9 Dover Place, Bristol, BS8 1AL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £6,900£19,803 £2,500 £10,000 4 50% 1 Sep 2020
128 Ashley Down Road, Bristol BS7 9JS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,200£18,522.58 £3,704.52 £18,522.58 5 100% 27 Jul 2020
66A Ridingleaze, Lawrence Weston, Bristol BS11 0QD Read the reasoning old rules Illegal eviction individual £390 £3,380 £3,380 1 24 Jul 2020
53 City View Apartments, Bristol, BS5 0AA Read the reasoning old rules Harassment individual £880 £1,540 £3,080 2 16 Jun 2020
20 Burnell Drive, St Pauls, Bristol, BS2 9JU Read the reasoning old rulescouncil application Improvement notice not complied with individual £732.25£1,617.38 £1,569.10 council 97% 12 May 2020
8 Tyndalls Park Mews, Bristol, BS2 8DN Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,500Dismissed6 23 Mar 2020

Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.

The tribunal's approach to the amount, and the rules on who can apply and when, are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK. Had a rent increase instead? What the rent tribunal decided nearby.