Rent Rise Check

Rent repayment orders in Redbridge

What the tribunal ordered in Redbridge

21 decisions (12 ended in a rent repayment order). In 11 the amount ordered has been checked.

AllBefore 5 Sep 2022Since 5 Sep 2022
Ended in a rent repayment order63% 12 of 1980% 8 of 1044% 4 of 9
Typical amount ordered, per applicant£4,620 n=11£4,025 n=7too few n=4
Typical amount ordered, per decision£6,480 n=11, typically 2 applicants£5,280 n=7, typically 1 applicanttoo few n=4
Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award70% n=5too few n=2too few n=3

No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.

"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.

"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".

The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.

By offence

OffenceDecisionsEnded in an orderTypical amount ordered, per applicantTypical amount ordered, per decision
Unlicensed HMO5 too few 2 of 4 too few n=2 too few n=2
Unlicensed house (selective licensing)13 77% 10 of 13 £5,280 n=9 £6,921 n=9, typically 2 applicants
Harassment1 too few 0 of 1 too few n=0 too few n=0
Violence for securing entry1 too few 0 of 1 too few n=0 too few n=0
Other1 too few 0 of 0 too few n=0 too few n=0

The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.

Download these as a PDF The figures and the list below, with a GOV.UK link for every decision: something you can attach to an RRO1 application. Individual landlords are not named in it.

Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.

AddressOffenceLandlord Rent pcmMaximumPer applicantOrdered, totalApplicantsShare
128D George Lane, London E18 1AD Read the reasoning period not stated Unlicensed house (selective licensing) company
Ferman Property Ltd
Out of time or no jurisdiction1 25 Aug 2026
99 Endsleigh Gardens, Ilford, IG1 3EG Read the reasoning period not stated Harassment individual £750Dismissed1 30 Jul 2026
Flat 1, 570 Cranbrook Road, Ilford, Essex, IG2 6RE Read the reasoning period not stated Unlicensed house (selective licensing) company
The Interview Room Limited
Out of time or no jurisdiction1 26 Jul 2026
21 Courtland Avenue, IIford, IG1 3DN Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) company and individuals £26,844 £7,382.10 £14,764.20 2 55% 20 Jun 2026
51 Castleview Gardens, London, IG1 3QF Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual Dismissed4 15 Jun 2026
1 Farely Drive, Ilford, IG3 8LT . Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed HMO company and individuals
Clevarent Ltd
£6,300 £4,725 £4,725 1 75% 24 Feb 2025
66 Capel Gardens, Ilford, IG3 9DG Read the reasoning old rules Violence for securing entry individual £800Dismissed1 3 Sep 2024
Flat 115, Memorial Heights, Monarch Way, Ilford, Essex, IG2 7HS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £1,100£13,200 £4,620 £9,240 2 70% 26 Jun 2023
Flat 38 Oakside Court Fencepiece Road, Ilford Essex IG6 2PH Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £16,200 £3,240 £6,480 2 40% 19 Apr 2023
5 Dawlish Drive, Ilford, Essex, IG3 9ED Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £2,382 £24,414.18 £24,414.18 1 28 Sep 2022
Flat 2, 66 Aldborough Road South, Ilford, Essex, IG3 8EX Read the reasoning old rules Other individual Other ruling2 7 Apr 2022
16 Bolton Road, London E15 6JY Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £680 £1,013.08 £2,026.16 2 5 Apr 2022
149 High Road, South Woodford, London, E18 2PA Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual Out of time or no jurisdiction2 18 Nov 2021
72 Aldborough Road South, Ilford, Essex, IG3 8EX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £1,250 £3,125 £6,250 2 8 Sep 2021
1079 High Road, Chadwell Heath, Romford, Essex, RM6 4AU Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) company
Chadwell Holdings Limited
£710£7,284.75 £6,920.51 £6,920.51 1 95% 23 Aug 2021
119A Maybank Road, London E18 1EJ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £1,175£12,204.84 £6,102.42 £12,204.84 2 100% 19 Jul 2021
Flat 2, 94 Belgrave Road, Ilford IG1 3AL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £1,413 £1,413 1 18 Mar 2021
28 Kensington Gardens, Ilford, Essex, IG1 3EL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £2,200 £5,280 £5,280 1 19 Apr 2020
Flat 28, 2-20 Hainault Street, 4th Floor, Spectrum Towers, Ilford IG1 4GZ Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £6,600 £660 £660 1 10% 14 Feb 2020
27A Wanstead Park Road, Ilford IG1 3TG Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £1,150Dismissed2 25 Jul 2019
Flat 36 Avondale Court, Churchfields, London E18 2RD Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) company
Craftrule Limited
£1,150 £4,025 £4,025 1 28 Jun 2019

Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.

The tribunal's approach to the amount, and the rules on who can apply and when, are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK. Had a rent increase instead? What the rent tribunal decided nearby.