Rent Rise Check

Rent repayment orders in Ealing

What the tribunal ordered in Ealing

19 decisions (12 ended in a rent repayment order). In 11 the amount ordered has been checked.

AllBefore 5 Sep 2022Since 5 Sep 2022
Ended in a rent repayment order67% 12 of 1860% 3 of 569% 9 of 13
Typical amount ordered, per applicant£3,360 n=11too few n=3£3,982 n=8
Typical amount ordered, per decision£5,831 n=11, typically 2 applicantstoo few n=3£5,525 n=8, typically 2 applicants
Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could awardtoo few n=4–too few n=4

No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.

"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.

"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".

The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.

By offence

OffenceDecisionsEnded in an orderTypical amount ordered, per applicantTypical amount ordered, per decision
Unlicensed HMO12 75% 9 of 12 £3,737 n=8 £7,474 n=8, typically 2 applicants
Unlicensed house (selective licensing)5 40% 2 of 5 too few n=2 too few n=2
Harassment1 too few 1 of 1 too few n=1 too few n=1

The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.

Download these as a PDF The figures and the list below, with a GOV.UK link for every decision: something you can attach to an RRO1 application. Individual landlords are not named in it.

Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.

AddressOffenceLandlord Rent pcmMaximumPer applicantOrdered, totalApplicantsShare
Flat 5, 27 Summit Road, Northolt UB5 5HJ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Uniwell Investments Limited
Dismissed1 19 Aug 2026
1C Fairlawn Avenue, Ealing W4 5EF Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,000£23,300 £5,825 £17,475 3 75% 10 Aug 2026
Flat 6A, 36 High Street, Acton, London W3 6LG Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) company Dismissed1 3 Jul 2026
15 Shakespeare Road, London W3 6SG Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Roomerang Holdings Ltd
£7,743.97 £23,231.90 3 18 Mar 2026
6 Mersey Walk, Northolt, UB5 6TH Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £1,450£8,700 £5,220 £5,220 1 60% 9 Feb 2026
9 Poppy Close, London UB5 5TP Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £1,600£4,691.95 £3,284.37 £3,284.37 1 70% 29 Jan 2026
Flat 2, Hoover Building, Western Avenue, Greenford, UB6 8AT Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) company
Gastony International Limited
Dismissed1 16 Jan 2026
10 Greystoke House, 150 Brunswick Road, London, W5 1AW Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £2,020Dismissed2 24 Oct 2025
25a Avenue Gardens, London W3 8HB Read the reasoning Not stated not stated Figures not available, see the original decision 24 Jul 2025
5 Niagara Avenue, London, W5 4UD Read the reasoning old rules Harassment individual £352 £3,250 £3,250 1 12 May 2025
Flat C, 17 Richmond Road, Ealing, London W5 5NS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £14,400 £4,680 £9,360 2 65% 7 May 2025
8 St Dunstans Gardens, London W3 6QG Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed HMO individual £3,033 £1,648.75 £6,595 4 6 May 2025
2c Hamilton Road, London W5 2EQ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Peel Ealing Investments Ltd
£2,280 £1,943.59 £5,830.77 3 19 Oct 2023
15 Rose Garden W5 4JU Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Dale Key Limited
£640 £1,668 £3,336 2 23 Feb 2023
15 Rose Gardens, London, W5 4JU Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £640Dismissed2 6 Jun 2022
Flat B, 23 Shirley Gardens, London W7 3PT Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual Struck out1 8 Apr 2022
4B The Vale, London W3 7SB & 0155 Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Roomerang Limited
£700 £4,113.87 £8,227.74 2 22 Nov 2021
34 Sarsfield Road, Perivale, Greenford, Middlesex UB6 7AE Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £650 £3,360 £6,720 2 15 May 2019
70 Highview Road, West Ealing, W13 0HW Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Big Egg Properties Limited
£211.76 £1,694.07 8 31 May 2018

Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.

The tribunal's approach to the amount, and the rules on who can apply and when, are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK. Had a rent increase instead? What the rent tribunal decided nearby.