Rent Rise Check

← Back

62 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QJ

MAN/00EY/HMG/2024/0011 · Blackpool · decided 17 Oct 2025 · rent repayment order

old rules
OffenceUnlicensed house (selective licensing)
LandlordCompany and individuals
Applicants1 tenant
Rent£750 per month
Period the order relates to8 Nov 2022 to 16 Jun 2023
Maximum the tribunal could awardnot stated as one figure (or not yet checked)
Amount the tribunal ordered£5,239.75 (1 applicant)
Share of the maximumnot stated
Tribunal fees to be reimbursed£110
RulesOld rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent.

Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the maximum is left out of the statistics until it has been checked.

From the tribunal's reasons on the amount

We disagree. … That is not what the legislation says. … We determine in this case that the rent has been paid by the tenant in accordance with the terms of the tenancy agreement. … In accordance with section 44 HPA 2016, the amount of an Order must relate to rent paid in a period, not exceeding 12 months during which the landlord was committing the offence under section 95 HA 2004. The amount that the landlord is required to pay in respect of a period must not exceed the rent paid in respect of that period. … What proportion of the rent (after deduction as above) is a fair reflection of the seriousness of this offence? That figure is then the starting point (in the sense that the term is used in criminal sentencing); it is the default penalty in the absence of any other factors, but it may be higher or lower in light of the final step. iv. consider whether any deduction from, or addition to, that figure should be made in the light of the other factors set out in section 44(4). Rent for the relevant period. The relevant period during which the offence was committed was 8 November 2022 to 16 June 2023. … It is agreed that all sums paid for utilities etc were met directly by the tenant and the Respondent does not claim set-off of any such costs. … We, therefore, determine that the maximum amount of any RRO is £5,342.50 The seriousness of the offence. …

An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.

The original

Other rent repayment orders near FY1 4QJ · Licensing schemes and register for FY1 4QJ

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

The rules are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK.