59a, Chamberlayne Road, London, NW10 3ND
LON/00AE/HMF/2023/0025 · Brent · decided 6 Oct 2023 · rent repayment order
old rules| Offence | Unlicensed HMO |
|---|---|
| Landlord | Company and individuals |
| Applicants | 1 tenant |
| Rent | not stated as one figure |
| Period the order relates to | 1 Jun 2021 to 9 Feb 2022 |
| Maximum the tribunal could award | not stated as one figure (or not yet checked); £165.94 then deducted for utilities |
| Amount the tribunal ordered | £3,675.97 (1 applicant) |
| Share of the maximum | 75%, as the tribunal stated it |
| Tribunal fees to be reimbursed | £300 |
| Rules | Old rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent. |
Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the maximum is left out of the statistics until it has been checked.
From the tribunal's reasons on the amount
The Tribunal therefore went on to consider the amount, if any, which it should order the Respondent to pay. … The first step is to ascertain the whole of the rent for the relevant period. Rent. The Tribunal was satisfied that the Applicant paid rent in respect of his occupation of the property. A schedule of rent payments made is at page 69 and proof of those payments is at pages 70 to 73. In the period from 1 June 2021 to 9 February 2022 a total of £5,700 was paid in rent. However, the last rent payment on 24 January 2022 included rent for the whole of the month of February. A monthly rent of £650 is equivalent to a daily rent of (£650 x 12) / 365 = £21.37. It follows that the rent paid in respect of the period from 1 to 9 February 2022 inclusive was (£21.37 x 9) = £192.33, and so £457.67 of the February rent must be discounted. It follows that the total rent paid in respect of the period for which an order is sought was £5,700 - £457.67 = £5,242.33. … The evidence shows that for the period from 24 January to 23 February 2022 the Applicant received a total of £483 in UC (pages 75 to 77). The Tribunal accepted the Applicant’s oral evidence that no earlier payments of UC had been made. At page 69 of the Applicant’s bundle it is asserted that the amount of UC to be deducted is £92.70, and a calculation is given at page 90. …
An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.
The original
Other rent repayment orders near NW10 3ND · Licensing schemes and register for NW10 3ND
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.