Rent Rise Check

Rent repayment orders in Birmingham

What the tribunal ordered in Birmingham

59 decisions (42 ended in a rent repayment order). In 40 the amount ordered has been checked.

AllBefore 5 Sep 2022Since 5 Sep 2022
Ended in a rent repayment order86% 42 of 4981% 25 of 3194% 17 of 18
Typical amount ordered, per applicant£2,819 n=40£2,819 n=25£3,018 n=15
Typical amount ordered, per decision£19,890 n=40, typically 8 applicants£22,549 n=25, typically 8 applicants£3,720 n=15, typically 1 applicant
Typical share of the maximum the tribunal could award74% n=1886% n=940% n=9

No decision here yet concerns an offence on or after 1 May 2026, when the maximum rose to 24 months' rent. Every figure is under the old rules, where the maximum was 12 months' rent.

"Per applicant" divides what the tribunal ordered in a decision by the number of applicants in it; "per decision" is the total ordered across all of them, as the decision states it.

"Typical" is the median. n is the number of decisions each figure comes from. Figures from fewer than 5 decisions are shown as "too few".

The Upper Tribunal set out how the amount is fixed in Acheampong v Roman on 5 September 2022.

By offence

OffenceDecisionsEnded in an orderTypical amount ordered, per applicantTypical amount ordered, per decision
Unlicensed HMO38 83% 30 of 36 £2,819 n=29 £22,549 n=29, typically 8 applicants
Unlicensed house (selective licensing)13 92% 12 of 13 £2,880 n=11 £3,460 n=11, typically 1 applicant

The tribunal can only make an order if it is sure, beyond reasonable doubt, that the landlord committed the offence. That is why not every application ends in an order. Old rules: offence before 1 May 2026, maximum 12 months' rent. New rules: offence on or after 1 May 2026, maximum 24 months' rent.

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

Left out of the figures, but listed below: decisions whose outcome or amount we haven't been able to check. Dismissed, withdrawn, struck-out and out-of-time applications count towards "ended in an order" but never supply an amount.

Download these as a PDF The figures and the list below, with a GOV.UK link for every decision: something you can attach to an RRO1 application. Individual landlords are not named in it.

Click an address, or "Read the reasoning", to see why the tribunal decided what it did: the figures, an extract from its reasons on the amount and a link to the full decision on GOV.UK.

AddressOffenceLandlord Rent pcmMaximumPer applicantOrdered, totalApplicantsShare
332 Yardley Green Road, Bordesley Green, Birmingham B9 5JL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £575£6,900 £3,795 £3,795 1 55% 14 Sep 2026
10 Ladycroft, Birmingham, B18 8EG Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £575£1,776.77 £888.39 £888.39 1 50% 7 Sep 2026
856 Pershore Road, Selly Park, Birmingham, B29 7LS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £9,300 £1,860 £3,720 2 40% 4 Aug 2026
17 Dovey Road, Moseley, Birmingham, B13 9NT Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Limestone Contracts Limited
Struck out3 20 Apr 2026
1 R0yal Arch Apartments The Mailbox Wharfside Street Birmingham B1 1RB Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £7,488.67 £4,493.20 £4,493.20 1 60% 23 Oct 2025
Flat 5B, 42 York Road, Edgbaston, B16 9JB Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £1,200 £3,017.61 £6,035.21 2 9 Jul 2025
181 Oldknow Road, Birmingham, B10 0JA Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £900 £534.48 £534.48 1 28 Jun 2025
Basement Flat 59 Soho Road Birmingham B21 9SP Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £650£7,800 £2,730 £2,730 1 35% 30 May 2025
61 Roland Road, Birmingham B19 1RT Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £700£8,400 £6,300 £6,300 1 75% 8 May 2025
135, Heather Road, Small Heath, Birmingham. B10 9TD Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual Dismissed2 8 May 2025
358(a) Shirley Road, Adcocks Green B27 7NS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £650£2,380.95 £714.28 £714.28 1 30% 13 Mar 2025
114 Imperial Road Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £550£1,482.74 £444.83 £444.83 1 30% 25 Feb 2025
Flat 3 61 Sandon Road Birmingham B17 8DT Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £3,459.99 £3,459.99 1 24 Jan 2025
102 Tiverton Road, Birmingham. B29 6BP Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed HMO individual £654.68 £4,582.77 7 3 Jan 2025
36 Millward Street Small Heath Birmingham B9 5BA Read the reasoning old rulesfigures not yet checked Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £675£6,050 £1,900 £1,900 1 31% 6 Dec 2024
152 Mansel Road Small Heath Birmingham B10 9NJ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed house (selective licensing) individual £900£7,200 £2,880 £2,880 1 40% 16 Oct 2024
Unit 1118 The Mercian 218 Broad Street Birmingham, B15 1FF Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Broad Street Opco Ltd
Other ruling1 8 May 2024
3Heaton Drive, Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, B74 2QZ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £4,429.33 £13,288 3 27 Oct 2022
3 Heaton Drive, Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, B74 2QZ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £4,429.33 £13,288 3 27 Oct 2022
3 Heaton Drive, Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, B74 2QZ Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £4,429.33 £13,288 3 27 Oct 2022
194A Dawlish Road, Birmingham, West Midlands, B29 7AR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £2,912 £2,818.66 £22,549.28 8 22 Jun 2022
194A Dawlish Road, Birmingham, West Midlands, B29 7AR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £2,912 £2,818.66 £22,549.28 8 22 Jun 2022
194A Dawlish Road, Birmingham, West Midlands, B29 7AR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £2,912 £2,818.66 £22,549.28 8 22 Jun 2022
194A Dawlish Road, Birmingham, West Midlands, B29 7AR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £2,912 £2,818.66 £22,549.28 8 22 Jun 2022
194A Dawlish Road, Birmingham, West Midlands, B29 7AR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £2,912 £2,818.66 £22,549.28 8 22 Jun 2022
194A Dawlish Road, Birmingham, West Midlands, B29 7AR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £2,912 £2,818.66 £22,549.28 8 22 Jun 2022
194A Dawlish Road, Birmingham, West Midlands, B29 7AR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £2,912 £2,818.66 £22,549.28 8 22 Jun 2022
194A Dawlish Road, Birmingham, West Midlands, B29 7AR Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company and individuals £2,912 £2,818.66 £22,549.28 8 22 Jun 2022
89 Teignmouth Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7AX Read the reasoning old rules Not stated not stated Not clearNone 5 Nov 2020
89 Teignmouth Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7AX Read the reasoning old rules Not stated not stated Not clearNone 5 Nov 2020
89 Teignmouth Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7AX Read the reasoning old rules Not stated not stated Not clearNone 5 Nov 2020
89 Teignmouth Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7AX Read the reasoning old rules Not stated not stated Not clearNone 5 Nov 2020
89 Teignmouth Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7AX Read the reasoning old rules Not stated not stated Not clearNone 5 Nov 2020
89 Teignmouth Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7AX Read the reasoning old rules Not stated not stated Not clearNone 5 Nov 2020
89 Teignmouth Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7AX Read the reasoning old rules Not stated not stated Not clearNone 5 Nov 2020
89 Teignmouth Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7AX Read the reasoning old rules Not stated not stated Not clearNone 5 Nov 2020
79 Alton Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7DX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,480£41,810.04 £4,476.26 £35,810.04 8 86% 5 Aug 2020
79 Alton Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7DX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,480£41,810.04 £4,476.26 £35,810.04 8 86% 5 Aug 2020
79 Alton Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7DX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,480£41,810.04 £4,476.26 £35,810.04 8 86% 5 Aug 2020
79 Alton Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7DX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,480£41,810.04 £4,476.26 £35,810.04 8 86% 5 Aug 2020
79 Alton Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7DX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,480£41,810.04 £4,476.26 £35,810.04 8 86% 5 Aug 2020
79 Alton Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7DX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,480£41,810.04 £4,476.26 £35,810.04 8 86% 5 Aug 2020
79 Alton Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7DX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,480£41,810.04 £4,476.26 £35,810.04 8 86% 5 Aug 2020
79 Alton Road, Selly Oak, Birmingham, B29 7DX Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £3,480£41,810.04 £4,476.26 £35,810.04 8 86% 5 Aug 2020
35 Bragg Road, Birmingham B20 3DB Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £385£2,310 £1,710 £1,710 1 74% 11 Oct 2019
39 Slade Road, Erdington, Birmingham, West Midlands B23 7PG Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £350Dismissed2 9 Jul 2019
28 Bloomsbury Street, Birmingham, B7 5BS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Wenlock Abbey Limited
£2,275Dismissed5 22 May 2019
28 Bloomsbury Street, Birmingham, B7 5BS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Wenlock Abbey Limited
£2,275Dismissed5 22 May 2019
28 Bloomsbury Street, Birmingham, B7 5BS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Wenlock Abbey Limited
£2,275Dismissed5 22 May 2019
28 Bloomsbury Street, Birmingham, B7 5BS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Wenlock Abbey Limited
£2,275Dismissed5 22 May 2019
293 Heeley Road, Birmingham, B29 6EL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,210 £2,486.23 £19,889.82 8 21 May 2019
293 Heeley Road, Birmingham, B29 6EL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,210 £2,486.23 £19,889.82 8 21 May 2019
293 Heeley Road, Birmingham, B29 6EL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,210 £2,486.23 £19,889.82 8 21 May 2019
293 Heeley Road, Birmingham, B29 6EL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,210 £2,486.23 £19,889.82 8 21 May 2019
293 Heeley Road, Birmingham, B29 6EL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,210 £2,486.23 £19,889.82 8 21 May 2019
293 Heeley Road, Birmingham, B29 6EL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,210 £2,486.23 £19,889.82 8 21 May 2019
293 Heeley Road, Birmingham, B29 6EL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,210 £2,486.23 £19,889.82 8 21 May 2019
293 Heeley Road, Birmingham, B29 6EL Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO individual £2,210 £2,486.23 £19,889.82 8 21 May 2019
28 Bloomsbury Street, Birmingham, B7 5BS Read the reasoning old rules Unlicensed HMO company
Wenlock Abbey Limited
£2,275Dismissed5 22 May 2018

Rent per calendar month, the maximum the tribunal could award (the rent for the period, less any benefits), the amount ordered and its share of that maximum, as the decision states them. "Per applicant" is the total ordered divided by the number of applicants shown; "Ordered, total" is the whole amount for the decision. A blank maximum means the decision never states it as one figure, or it hasn't been checked. Individual landlords are never named here; companies are.

The tribunal's approach to the amount, and the rules on who can apply and when, are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK. Had a rent increase instead? What the rent tribunal decided nearby.