(x3) 12 Arden Crescent, London, E14 9WA
LON/00BK/HMF/2023/0196 · Tower Hamlets · decided 23 Sep 2025 · rent repayment order
old rulesfigures not yet checked| Offence | Unlicensed HMO |
|---|---|
| Landlord | Individual |
| Applicants | 3 tenants |
| Rent | not stated as one figure |
| Period the order relates to | 2 Feb 2022 to 13 Jan 2023 |
| Maximum the tribunal could award | not stated as one figure |
| Amount the tribunal ordered | £1,851.39 per applicant on average; £5,554.17 in total for 3 applicants |
| Share of the maximum | 35%, as the tribunal stated it |
| Tribunal fees to be reimbursed | £300 |
| Rules | Old rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent. |
Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the amount hasn't been checked yet and is left out of the statistics, so compare it with the original.
From the tribunal's reasons on the amount
In considering the amount of any RRO the tribunal had regard section 74(6) of the Housing Act 2004 which states: In such a case the tribunal must, in particular, take into account the following matters— (a)the total amount of relevant payments paid in connection with occupation of the HMO during any period during which it appears to the tribunal that an offence was being committed by the appropriate person in relation to the HMO under section 72(1); (b)the extent to which that total amount— (i)consisted of, or derived from, payments of relevant awards of universal credit or housing benefit, and (ii)was actually received by the appropriate person; (c)whether the appropriate person has at any time been convicted of an offence under section 72(1) in relation to the HMO; (d)the conduct and financial circumstances of the appropriate person; and (e)where the application is made by an occupier, the conduct of the occupier. … Ascertain the whole of the rent for the relevant period. b. Subtract any element of that sum that represents payment for utilities that only benefited the tenant, for example gas, electricity and internet access. It is for the landlord to supply evidence of these, but if precise figures are not available an experienced tribunal is expected to make an informed estimate where appropriate. c. …
An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.
The original
This decision replaces an earlier one for the same case: 11 Jun 2024.
Other rent repayment orders near E14 9WA · Licensing schemes and register for E14 9WA
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.