First Floor Flat 2, 5 St Johns Wood Road, London NW8 8RB
LON/00BK/HMF/2020/0028 · Westminster · decided 12 Apr 2021 · rent repayment order
old rules| Offence | Unlicensed HMO |
|---|---|
| Landlord | Company: Ebenezer Bethel UK Limited |
| Applicants | 2 tenants |
| Rent | £1,150 per month |
| Period the order relates to | 26 Jan 2019 to 16 Dec 2019 |
| Maximum the tribunal could award | not stated as one figure (or not yet checked) |
| Amount the tribunal ordered | £5,088 per applicant on average; £10,176 in total for 2 applicants |
| Share of the maximum | not stated |
| Tribunal fees to be reimbursed | £300 |
| Rules | Old rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent. |
Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the maximum is left out of the statistics until it has been checked.
From the tribunal's reasons on the amount
amount? … The applicants are seeking a sum of £12,294.01. This is made up of 10 monthly payments of £1.150 and 21 days of a daily payment of 37.808. … They argue that the starting point for a RRO should be 100% of the rent paid. They also argue that there are no factors which would point to the RRO being reduced. … The applicants argue that the conduct of the respondent has been poor. In particular (i) The respondent allowed the Property to be sub-let by a disreputable landlord without carrying out proper checks. … Since the applicants were occupying the Property under a statutory periodic tenancy, the proper notice period was two months. … The applicants ask the tribunal to note that the respondent has not provided any information about its financial circumstances. … The respondent concedes that if the tribunal does not find that it has a reasonable excuse defence then the RRO is payable as claimed. The decision of the tribunal. The tribunal determines to make a RRO of £10,176,65. The reasons for the decision of the tribunal. The tribunal notes the arguments of the applicants and the concession of the respondent. … However it also notes that the applicants’ evidence (the occupancy table provided in the applicants’ bundle) is that between 12 May 2019 and 6 July 2019 there were fewer than 5 people in the property. …
An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.
The original
Other rent repayment orders near NW8 8RB · Licensing schemes and register for NW8 8RB
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.