Apartment 733, 2 Baltimore Wharf, London, E14 9EQ
LON/00BG/HMF/2025/0677 · Tower Hamlets · decided 16 Sep 2025 · rent repayment order
old rules| Offence | Unlicensed HMO |
|---|---|
| Landlord | Individual |
| Applicants | 3 tenants |
| Rent | not stated as one figure |
| Period the order relates to | 20 May 2023 to 21 Apr 2024 |
| Maximum the tribunal could award | not stated as one figure (or not yet checked); £1,600 then deducted for utilities |
| Amount the tribunal ordered | £5,158.82 per applicant on average; £15,476.47 in total for 3 applicants |
| Share of the maximum | 60%, as the tribunal stated it |
| Tribunal fees to be reimbursed | £300 |
| Rules | Old rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent. |
Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the maximum is left out of the statistics until it has been checked.
From the tribunal's reasons on the amount
repayment order must relate to rent paid in a period during which the landlord was committing the offence, subject to a maximum of 12 months. By section 44(3) the amount that a landlord may be required to repay must not exceed the total rent paid in respect of that period. … Section 44(4) of the Act requires the Tribunal to have regard to the conduct of the landlord and tenant, the financial circumstances of the landlord and whether or not the landlord has been convicted of a relevant offence when determining the amount to be paid under a rent repayment order. … The property is a 2-bedroom flat in a block of flats. The bedrooms were let separately to different occupiers, and there was a shared bathroom, living room and kitchen. There were 3 occupants at all times during the relevant period. The Applicants all entered into assured shorthold tenancy agreements with the Respondent, all lived in the property as their only or main residence, and the property was only used as a dwelling. Rent was paid to the Respondent. An additional licensing scheme was introduced in Tower Hamlets on 1 April 2019 and was renewed on 1 April 2024. It required properties where 3 or more people are living in 2 or more households and who share basic amenities to be licensed. Throughout the period in question the occupiers formed 2 households. …
An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.
The original
Other rent repayment orders near E14 9EQ · Licensing schemes and register for E14 9EQ
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.