Rent Rise Check

← Back

Flat 8 Thornaby House, Canrobert Street, London, E2 0BE

LON/00BG/HMF/2025/0603 · Tower Hamlets · decided 3 Sep 2025 · rent repayment order

old rules
OffenceUnlicensed HMO
LandlordIndividual
Applicants4 tenants
Rentnot stated as one figure
Period the order relates to28 Dec 2022 to 6 Feb 2024
Maximum the tribunal could awardnot stated as one figure (or not yet checked)
Amount the tribunal ordered£2,158.76 per applicant on average; £8,635.06 in total for 4 applicants
Share of the maximum50%, as the tribunal stated it
Tribunal fees to be reimbursed£300
RulesOld rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent.

Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the maximum is left out of the statistics until it has been checked.

From the tribunal's reasons on the amount

repayment order must relate to rent paid in a period during which the landlord was committing the offence, subject to a maximum of 12 months. By section 44(3) the amount that a landlord may be required to repay must not exceed the total rent paid in respect of that period. … Section 44(4) of the Act requires the Tribunal to have regard to the conduct of the landlord and tenant, the financial circumstances of the landlord and whether or not the landlord has been convicted of a relevant offence when determining the amount to be paid under a rent repayment order. … The property is a 3-bedroom flat in a block of flats. The bedrooms were let separately to various occupiers, and there was a shared bathroom, living room and kitchen. There were 4 occupants at all times during the relevant period. … Rent was paid to the Respondent. An additional licensing scheme was introduced in Tower Hamlets on 1 April 2019 and was renewed on 1 April 2024. It required properties where 3 or more people living in 2 or more households who shared basic amenities to be licensed. The Applicants each occupied their own bedroom and so they formed 4 households. The property was, therefore, an HMO requiring an additional licence. No such licence was in place nor had one been applied for until 7 February 2024. …

An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.

The original

Other rent repayment orders near E2 0BE · Licensing schemes and register for E2 0BE

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

The rules are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK.