Rent Rise Check

← Back

5 Conway Road, London N15 3SA

LON/00AP/HMG/2024/0607 · Haringey · decided 1 May 2025 · rent repayment order

old rules
OffenceUnlicensed HMO
LandlordIndividual
Applicants4 tenants
Rentnot stated as one figure
Period the order relates to31 Jan 2023 to 30 Jan 2024
Maximum the tribunal could awardnot stated as one figure (or not yet checked)
Amount the tribunal ordered£1,600.25 per applicant on average; £6,401 in total for 4 applicants
Share of the maximum25%, as the tribunal stated it
Tribunal fees to be reimbursed£330
RulesOld rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent.

Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the maximum is left out of the statistics until it has been checked.

From the tribunal's reasons on the amount

The Respondents say in their statement of case that “a full RRO award would place an undue financial burden on” them. They did not, however, provide any documentary evidence to support this assertion. In oral evidence, they told us that their monthly mortgage payments were £1,660 per month. Using approximate figures from memory, the outstanding mortgage on the house was £320,000, and the property was probably worth about £750,000. … Our conclusion is that the Respondents were very far from being “rogue landlords”. We accept that the letting itself was wholly satisfactory for all concerned, and that the Respondents conducted themselves well in all respects, save for not licensing the property. … We accept the facts provided by the Respondents as to their financial circumstances (albeit without documentary support), but do not consider that, as stated, they significantly move the dial in terms of the quantum of the RRO we should order. Of course, any significant additional expense will be problematic for them, but their earnings are reasonable and they have substantial equity in the property. … We do not repeat that material here, but have been guided by it. … As it is, we consider we must give some recognition to the length of the offending. … Taking an approximately proportionate approach to what would have been a 20% award, we make a final determination at 25%.

An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.

The original

Other rent repayment orders near N15 3SA · Licensing schemes and register for N15 3SA

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

The rules are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK.