Rent Rise Check

← Back

North Lodge, Station Court and Emily Bowes Court, N17

LON/00AP/HMF/2022/0191 · Haringey · decided 29 Nov 2024 · rent repayment order

old rulesfigures not yet checked
OffenceUnlicensed HMO
LandlordCompany: LDC (Ferry Lane 2) GP3 Limited
Applicants114 tenants
Rentnot stated as one figure
Maximum the tribunal could awardnot stated as one figure
Amount the tribunal orderednot found
Share of the maximum65%, as the tribunal stated it
RulesOld rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent.

Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the amount hasn't been checked yet and is left out of the statistics, so compare it with the original.

From the tribunal's reasons on the amount

General. … They argued that in this case, the UT made an award of 60% on the basis that the offence of failure to licence an HMO was made by the landlord of a single property and was the result of inadvertence and the accommodation provided was of a generally good standard. The UT commented that, a prolonged failure to obtain a licence merits a higher penalty. … Behaviour. The following broad categories of behaviour are alleged by the Applicants. … As to the alleged failure to obtain licences, the Respondent stated that 1500 + applications were individually uploaded to the local authority’s portal by March 2023, with the council requesting payment on 17 July 2023 and payment being made on 12 September 2023. … Further, the failure to obtain licences at other properties within the same timeframe does not amount to a repeat offence. Behaviour. … I note that, in identical circumstances involving the same Respondent, an FTT felt the appropriate percentage award was 50% and this was an award which the UT refused to revisit. … I am of course not bound by the FTT’s decision in the cases involving 201 & 601 North Lodge and am required to make my own assessment in these cases bearing in mind the principles laid down by the UT. … On the evidence before me, the failure to licence can be characterised as inadvertent (as opposed to deliberate). …

An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.

The original

Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.

The rules are explained by Shelter and on GOV.UK.