63 Charlton Church Lane London SE 7 7AB
LON/00AL/HMF/2020/0218 · Greenwich · decided 23 Aug 2021 · rent repayment order
old rules| Offence | Unlicensed HMO |
|---|---|
| Landlord | Individual |
| Applicants | 1 tenant |
| Rent | not stated as one figure |
| Period the order relates to | 19 Oct 2019 to 18 Oct 2020 |
| Maximum the tribunal could award | not stated as one figure (or not yet checked) |
| Amount the tribunal ordered | £5,525 (1 applicant) |
| Share of the maximum | not stated |
| Tribunal fees to be reimbursed | £300 |
| Rules | Old rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent. |
Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the maximum is left out of the statistics until it has been checked.
From the tribunal's reasons on the amount
order? (a) What is the maximum amount that can be ordered under s.44(3) of the Act? (b) What account must be taken of (1) The conduct of the landlord (2) The financial circumstances of the landlord: (3) The conduct of the tenant? (iii) Should the tribunal refund the applicants’ application and hearing fees? … He deduced that the occupiers share both the bathrooms and the kitchen. … The total rents received from three of at least four occupiers at the property was found to be around £1491 per month. … As at the date of the hearing there had been no application for a licence. … The applicant confirmed to the tribunal that the property was her main residence. She stated that the only times she had not lived in the property was when conditions were too bad to remain. … The applicant also provided evidence that she had paid rent monthly over the period for which she is claiming a RRO. … The applicant gave evidence to the tribunal about the occupation of the property during the period of her claim. She said that in October 2019 all six rooms of the property were occupied and she believed that there were 7 occupiers in total. … Whilst she states that there were six or seven occupiers in November and December 2019 she is unsure whether there were only two or three in January 2020. …
An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.
The original
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.