60 London Road, Wembley, HA9 7HG
LON/00AE/HMF/2024/0035 · Brent · decided 30 Oct 2024 · rent repayment order
old rules| Offence | Unlicensed HMO |
|---|---|
| Landlord | Individual |
| Applicants | 3 tenants |
| Rent | not stated as one figure |
| Period the order relates to | 15 Aug 2021 to 18 Jan 2023 |
| Maximum the tribunal could award | not stated as one figure (or not yet checked); £1,487.92 then deducted for utilities |
| Amount the tribunal ordered | £2,360.88 per applicant on average; £7,082.64 in total for 3 applicants |
| Share of the maximum | 60%, as the tribunal stated it |
| Tribunal fees to be reimbursed | £330 |
| Rules | Old rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent. |
Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the maximum is left out of the statistics until it has been checked.
From the tribunal's reasons on the amount
The decision to make a RRO award is therefore discretionary. However, because the offence was established the Tribunal found no reason why it should not make an RRO in the circumstances of this application. … In particular, this meant that the last two payments on 2 February 2023 and 3 March 2023 were no longer applicable given that the relevant period now ended on 18 January 2023. … During the hearing, the representative for the Applicants recalculated the amount of total rent claimed, in light of the evidence presented to the Tribunal. Based on the amended relevant period, he found that the total rent claimed would actually be £7,182.57, which was higher than the amount claimed at page 83 of the bundle (£6,480.65). So as to be fair to the Respondents, the representative for the Applicants asked that the Tribunal calculate any repayment on the basis of the amount set out in the bundle, namely £6,480.65. … The Tribunal accepted this position and therefore took as the total rent for the period when the Property was occupied by three or more people in two or more separate households between the period 15 August 2021 and 31 March 2023 as £6,480.65. … It was accepted by both parties that the only payment that the Applicants made was for rent; the Respondents made payments for utilities. …
An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.
The original
Other rent repayment orders near HA9 7HG · Licensing schemes and register for HA9 7HG
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.