48B Neasden Lane, London, NW10 2UJ
LON/00AE/HMF/2020/0199 · Brent · decided 1 Apr 2021 · rent repayment order
old rules| Offence | Unlicensed HMO |
|---|---|
| Landlord | Company: JKR Properties Limited |
| Applicants | 1 tenant |
| Rent | £700 per month |
| Period the order relates to | 30 Sep 2018 to 29 Sep 2019 |
| Maximum the tribunal could award | not stated as one figure (or not yet checked) |
| Amount the tribunal ordered | £5,355 (1 applicant) |
| Share of the maximum | not stated |
| Tribunal fees to be reimbursed | £300 |
| Rules | Old rules (offence before 1 May 2026): maximum 12 months' rent. |
Read from the PDF automatically. Amounts are totals for the decision, across all its applicants; the maximum is left out of the statistics until it has been checked.
From the tribunal's reasons on the amount
suggested that these represented some 15-20% of the rent. … A deposit was required which was placed in a rent deposit scheme. He was provided with an energy performance certificate. A detailed inventory was annexed to the tenancy agreement. This described the Flat as an HMO (at p.48). … We were not provided with details of the Respondent’s interest in the property. It seems to be a linked company with the freeholder. … He complained that there was a problem of a mice infestation, a broken pipe in the wall, and that the landlord did not top up the electricity leaving the tenants with no power to cook, wash or charge their phones. … It was common ground that this was not an HMO which fell within the statutory licencing requirements, as the Flat was not occupied by more than four people. … This recorded that Brent had introduced an additional licencing scheme for the whole borough on 1 January 2015. … These are properties converted to self-contained flats. … On 30 September, the Respondent applied to Brent for a licence (at R.1-8). On 13 January 2020, Brent granted a licence (at A.9-15). … This licences the Flat for a maximum of six occupants. … There are two critical dates: (i) At 17.40 on 30 September 2019, the Respondent emailed its HMO licence application to Brent; (ii) At 19.08 on 30 September 2020, the Applicant emailed his application for a RRO to the Tribunal. …
An extract from the part of the decision that sets the amount. To keep people's names out, any sentence that might contain one is left out (marked …). The full reasons are in the original decision.
The original
Other rent repayment orders near NW10 2UJ · Licensing schemes and register for NW10 2UJ
Past decisions are not a prediction. The tribunal decides each case on its facts, including the landlord's and tenant's conduct.