Service Charge Check
part of Rent Rise Check: rent increases, repayment orders and licensing for renters

← Decisions near BN2 1TG

Flat 3, 19 Charles Street, Brighton, BN2 1TG

CHI/00ML/LSC/2023/0150 · service charges · Brighton and Hove · decided 19 Jul 2024

The Tribunal reduced the service charges for 2018 to 2023 for items including drains, insurance, cleaning, repairs and the major external works, which were disallowed in full, and ordered the landlord to pay the leaseholders' legal costs and tribunal fees, with an order preventing recovery of the costs of the proceedings through the service charge.

OutcomeReduced
Section 20C (landlord's costs of the case)Order made
Section 20 consultationNot in issue
Who appliedLeaseholder(s)
Freeholder / landlordAssethold Limited
Management companynone named
Managing agentEagerstates Limited
BuildingOne flat, 5 flats · 3 decisions about this building
Service charge years in dispute2023
Items in disputecleaning and grounds, insurance, major works, management fees, other, repairs and maintenance
Items disallowed or reducedcleaning and grounds, insurance, major works, management fees, other, repairs and maintenance
Total demandednot stated as one figure
Total found payablenot stated as one figure
Fees or costs orderedthe respondent to pay the applicants' legal costs assessed at £12,000.00 and tribunal fees of £300.00

Read from the decision automatically: a regular-expression pass, then a language model whose every value must quote the decision word for word. Compare with the original.

What the decision says

flats n
has been converted into the 5 flats leased to each of the Applicants
freeholder
Respondent : Assethold Limited
agent
managing agent, Eagerstates Limited
years
enabling the Applicants to add any challenges to service charges for 2023
outcome
The total reduction as against the 1st Applicant is £10,817.85.
items reduced
The Tribunal disallowed this item in full, so £225.51 total
s20c
The Respondent may not recover any fees of the County Court proceedings as service charges or administration charges pursuant to Section 20C
costs
assessed as £12,000.00 by 19th August 2024

The passages each figure was read from, verbatim. People's names are replaced with [name].

The original

If this decision relates to your home and you'd like it removed from this site, email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with the address or the case reference (removal requests).

Spotted an error on this page? Email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with what is wrong; the decision's reference goes in the subject.

Past decisions are not a prediction. Each tribunal decides on the evidence in front of it.