Flat 1, 19 Charles Street, Brighton, BN2 1TG
CHI/00ML/LSC/2024/0065 · service charges · Brighton and Hove · decided 19 Jul 2024
The tribunal reduced the service charges for 2018 to 2023 at this block, disallowing the major external works and several other items, and ordered the landlord to pay the lessees' legal costs and tribunal fees, and not to recover its costs of the proceedings through the service charge.
| Outcome | Reduced |
|---|---|
| Section 20C (landlord's costs of the case) | Order made |
| Section 20 consultation | Not in issue |
| Who applied | Leaseholder(s) |
| Freeholder / landlord | Assethold Limited |
| Management company | none named |
| Managing agent | Eagerstates Limited |
| Building | One flat, 5 flats · 3 decisions about this building |
| Service charge years in dispute | 2023 |
| Items in dispute | cleaning and grounds, insurance, major works, management fees, other, repairs and maintenance |
| Items disallowed or reduced | cleaning and grounds, insurance, major works, other, repairs and maintenance |
| Total demanded | not stated as one figure |
| Total found payable | not stated as one figure |
| Fees or costs ordered | respondent to pay the applicants' legal costs assessed at £12,000.00 and tribunal fees of £300.00 |
Read from the decision automatically: a regular-expression pass, then a language model whose every value must quote the decision word for word. Compare with the original.
What the decision says
- flats n
has been converted into the 5 flats leased to each
- freeholder
Respondent : Assethold Limited
- agent
its managing agent, Eagerstates Limited
- years
Insurance March 2023/2024 and broker’s fee
- outcome
The total reduction as against the 1st Applicant is £10,817.85.
- items reduced
The total reduction as against the 1st Applicant is £10,817.85.
- s20c
pursuant to Section 20C of the 1985 Act and paragraph 5A of Schedule 11 of the Commonhold and Leasehold Reform Act 2002 respectively were granted.
- costs
The Respondent shall pay the Applicants’ legal costs of the proceedings assessed as £12,000.00 by 19th August 2024.
The passages each figure was read from, verbatim. People's names are replaced with [name].
The original
If this decision relates to your home and you'd like it removed from this site, email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with the address or the case reference (removal requests).
Spotted an error on this page? Email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with what is wrong; the decision's reference goes in the subject.
Past decisions are not a prediction. Each tribunal decides on the evidence in front of it.