21-25 Eaglegate, East Hill, Colchester, Essex CO1 2PR
CAM/22UG/LSC/2024/0011 · service charges · Colchester · decided 16 Apr 2025
figures not yet checkedThe tribunal found the leaseholders must pay only half of the 2021 utility cupboard works, disallowed the 2021 handrails, 2023 emergency light testing, 2024 fire risk assessment, 2025 fire safety services and the 2025 repair fund, allowed the insurance and management fees, barred recovery of the landlord's proceedings costs, and ordered the landlord to refund the tribunal fees.
| Outcome | Reduced |
|---|---|
| Section 20C (landlord's costs of the case) | Order made |
| Section 20 consultation | Consultation failure found |
| Who applied | Leaseholder(s) |
| Freeholder / landlord | Assethold Limited |
| Management company | none named |
| Managing agent | Eagerstates Limited |
| Building | A block, 5 flats · 2 decisions about this building |
| Service charge years in dispute | 2022, 2023, 2024 |
| Items in dispute | insurance, legal and professional fees, management fees, other, repairs and maintenance, reserve fund |
| Items disallowed or reduced | management fees, other, repairs and maintenance, reserve fund |
| Total demanded | not stated as one figure |
| Total found payable | not stated as one figure |
| Fees or costs ordered | the respondent to reimburse tribunal fees of £320 |
Read from the decision automatically: a regular-expression pass, then a language model whose every value must quote the decision word for word; the two readings disagreed on something, so these figures haven't been checked yet and are left out of the statistics. Compare with the original.
What the decision says
- flats n
The Property is a building that contains 5 flats.
- freeholder
Respondent Assethold Limited
- agent
Representative : Eagerstates Limited
- years
The Applicants wished to challenge the amount of the service charges demanded for calendar years 2022, 2023 and 2024.
- outcome
No part of the costs of emergency light testing in 2023 (£192) and of the fire health and safety risk assessment in 2024 (£480) are payable by the Applicants.
- items reduced
50% of the cost of the work undertaken in the first-floor utility cupboard of 21-25 Eaglegate in 2021 is payable by the Applicants, i.e. £870 (inclusive of VAT).
- s20c
the Tribunal determined that it would be just and equitable to allow the Applicants’ application under section 20C of the Landlord and Tenant Act 1985.
- s20
the Tribunal determined that the work done was not of a reasonable standard.
- costs
The Respondent must pay to the Applicant the sum of £320 in reimbursement of Tribunal fees paid, within 28 days of the date of this decision.
The passages each figure was read from, verbatim. People's names are replaced with [name].
The original
If this decision relates to your home and you'd like it removed from this site, email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with the address or the case reference (removal requests).
Spotted an error on this page? Email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with what is wrong; the decision's reference goes in the subject.
Past decisions are not a prediction. Each tribunal decides on the evidence in front of it.