Service Charge Check
part of Rent Rise Check: rent increases, repayment orders and licensing for renters

← Decisions near NG1 3BW

Flats G04, 220, 305, 307, 317 and 318 Avalon Court, Kent Street, Nottingham, NG1 3BW

BIR/00FY/LIS/2022/0032 · LIS · Nottingham · decided 23 Feb 2026

figures not yet checked

The tribunal reduced several service charge items for 2017/18 to 2021/22, including capping electricity costs for a qualifying long-term agreement made without consultation, cutting management fees to 70%, and disallowing some costs, while finding the balancing charges for 2017/18 to 2019/20 not payable, and it ordered the landlord's litigation costs excluded from the service charge and awarded the leaseholders £3,000 towards their costs.

OutcomeReduced
Section 20C (landlord's costs of the case)Order made
Section 20 consultationConsultation failure found
Who appliedLeaseholder(s)
Freeholder / landlordAvalon Court Limited
Management companynone named
Managing agentXenia Estates Limited
BuildingA block
Service charge years in dispute2017
Items in disputecleaning and grounds, management fees, other, repairs and maintenance, utilities
Items disallowed or reducedcleaning and grounds, management fees, other, repairs and maintenance, utilities
Total demandednot stated as one figure
Total found payablenot stated as one figure
Fees or costs orderedrespondent to pay the applicants £3,000.00 towards their costs under Rule 13(1)(b)

Read from the decision automatically: a regular-expression pass, then a language model whose every value must quote the decision word for word; the two readings disagreed on something, so these figures haven't been checked yet and are left out of the statistics. Compare with the original.

What the decision says

freeholder
Respondent : Avalon Court Limited
agent
(who was head of client services for Xenia Estates Limited)
years
the five service charge years beginning 1 September 2017 and ending 31 August 2022
outcome
that some costs were unreasonable, that some should have been capped and that some were not payable at all
items reduced
The Tribunal agreed with the Applicants that the costs of these out-of-hours services should be reduced by 60%.
s20c
Accordingly, the Tribunal orders that the costs incurred, or to be incurred by the Respondent in connection with these proceedings are not to be regarded as
s20
the relevant contribution of each leaseholder under the agreement was limited to
costs
the Tribunal orders the Respondent to pay to the Applicants an amount of £3,000.00 towards their costs under Rule 13 (1)(b).

The passages each figure was read from, verbatim. People's names are replaced with [name].

The original

If this decision relates to your home and you'd like it removed from this site, email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with the address or the case reference (removal requests).

Spotted an error on this page? Email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with what is wrong; the decision's reference goes in the subject.

Past decisions are not a prediction. Each tribunal decides on the evidence in front of it.