Service Charge Check
part of Rent Rise Check: rent increases, repayment orders and licensing for renters

← Decisions near SE16 5XJ

22 William Square, London, SE16 5XJ

LON/00BE/LSC/2020/0192 · service charges · Southwark · decided 16 Apr 2021

The tribunal reduced the reserve fund contribution for the flat's block to £1,020 a year for 2014 to 2019, reduced electricity and some other charges for 2016 to 2020, allowed bin hire and the PLA licence costs, and ordered that 25% of the landlord's tribunal costs cannot be recovered through the service charge and that the landlord reimburse 25% of the applicant's fees.

OutcomeReduced
Section 20C (landlord's costs of the case)Order made
Section 20 consultationNot in issue
Who appliedLeaseholder(s)
Freeholder / landlordnot a company, or not stated
Management companynone named
Managing agentnone named
BuildingOne flat, 271 flats
Service charge years in dispute2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
Items in disputecleaning and grounds, insurance, other, repairs and maintenance, reserve fund, utilities
Items disallowed or reducedreserve fund, utilities
Total demandednot stated as one figure
Total found payablenot stated as one figure
Fees or costs orderedthe respondent to re-imburse the applicant 25% of the fees incurred for issuing this application and having it heard

Read from the decision automatically: a regular-expression pass, then a language model whose every value must quote the decision word for word. Compare with the original.

What the decision says

flats n
The estate comprises 271 flats.
years
in respect of each of the service charge years ending on 31 December from 2014 to 2020 inclusive
outcome
The Tribunal determines that the sum payable by the Applicant by way of service charge in respect of his contributions to the reserve fund for his block in each of the service charge years from 2014 to 2019 inclusive is £1,020.
items reduced
The Tribunal therefore concluded that the reasonable sums to be charged to the reserve for the Applicant’s block for each of the years 2014 to 2019 inclusive is £12,500 rather than the sums charged or budgeted for.
s20c
is allowed but only to the extent that 25% of those costs may not be recovered.
costs
The Respondent is ordered to re-imburse the Applicant 25% of the fees incurred by him for issuing this application and having it heard.

The passages each figure was read from, verbatim. People's names are replaced with [name].

The original

If this decision relates to your home and you'd like it removed from this site, email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with the address or the case reference (removal requests).

Spotted an error on this page? Email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with what is wrong; the decision's reference goes in the subject.

Past decisions are not a prediction. Each tribunal decides on the evidence in front of it.