Service Charge Check
part of Rent Rise Check: rent increases, repayment orders and licensing for renters

← Decisions near SE28 8LL

19 Bertrand Way,Thamesmead,London SE28 8LL

LON/00AL/LSC/2023/0259 · service charges · Greenwich · decided 21 Feb 2024

figures not yet checked

The tribunal found the disputed service charges for 2019 to 2023 payable only in part, cutting unsupported major works, grounds and reserve fund contributions, and ordered the landlord's costs not to be added to the service charge and the respondent to reimburse the £320 application and hearing costs.

OutcomeReduced
Section 20C (landlord's costs of the case)Order made
Section 20 consultationNot in issue
Who appliedLandlord or management company
Freeholder / landlordJoyce Farinto Properties Limited
Management companynone named
Managing agentFirstPort Property Services
BuildingOne flat
Service charge years in dispute2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024
Items in disputeadministration charges, cleaning and grounds, insurance, major works, management fees, other, repairs and maintenance, reserve fund
Items disallowed or reducedcleaning and grounds, major works, other, repairs and maintenance, reserve fund
Total demandednot stated as one figure
Total found payablenot stated as one figure
Fees or costs orderedthe respondent to reimburse the applicant's application and hearing costs of £320

Read from the decision automatically: a regular-expression pass, then a language model whose every value must quote the decision word for word; the two readings disagreed on something, so these figures haven't been checked yet and are left out of the statistics. Compare with the original.

What the decision says

freeholder
Applicant : [name] Properties Limited
agent
Representative : FirstPort Property Services
outcome
The Tribunal accepts that under the lease terms, a contribution to a reserve fund is payable by leaseholders. However, the sums collected were deemed disproportionate to the total service charge costs.
items reduced
The Tribunal is in agreement with the Applicant that, due to the lack of evidence for the works carried out under the heading's 'grounds' and 'general' maintenance, 'pathway repairs', 'health and safety audit' and 'major works', these sums were not payable.
total payable
The Tribunal determines that the disputed services charges, amounting to £3.792.94 are reasonable and payable for the period 1 October 2019 to
s20c
The Tribunal makes a 20C Order under the provisions of the Landlord & Tenant Act 1985 ('the 1985 Act') and paragraph 5A Schedule 11 of the Commonhold & Leasehold Reform Act 2002
costs
The application and hearing costs of £320 incurred by the Applicant in bringing this application to Tribunal to be reimbursed by the Respondent.

The passages each figure was read from, verbatim. People's names are replaced with [name].

The original

If this decision relates to your home and you'd like it removed from this site, email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with the address or the case reference (removal requests).

Spotted an error on this page? Email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with what is wrong; the decision's reference goes in the subject.

Past decisions are not a prediction. Each tribunal decides on the evidence in front of it.