Service Charge Check
part of Rent Rise Check: rent increases, repayment orders and licensing for renters

← Decisions near BN1 2EE

14 Russell Square, Brighton, BN1 2EE

HAV/00ML/LSC/2025/0606 · service charges · Brighton and Hove · decided 11 Dec 2025

figures not yet checked

The tribunal found nothing payable for 2023, only £682.43 (50% of insurance and accountancy) for 2024, and nothing payable for 2025 until a valid demand is served, with the landlord's litigation costs barred from the service charge.

OutcomeReduced
Section 20C (landlord's costs of the case)Order made
Section 20 consultationNot in issue
Who appliedLeaseholder(s)
Freeholder / landlordnot a company, or not stated
Management companynone named
Managing agentnone named
BuildingOne flat, 2 flats
Service charge years in dispute2023, 2024, 2025
Items in disputeadministration charges, cleaning and grounds, insurance, legal and professional fees, management fees, other, repairs and maintenance, reserve fund, utilities
Items disallowed or reducednone stated
Total demandednot stated as one figure
Total found payable£682.43
Fees or costs orderedrespondent to reimburse application fee of £110 and hearing fee of £227

Read from the decision automatically: a regular-expression pass, then a language model whose every value must quote the decision word for word; the two readings disagreed on something, so these figures haven't been checked yet and are left out of the statistics. Compare with the original.

What the decision says

flats n
As there are two flats in the building, the proportion payable by the Applicants is 50%
freeholder
The Respondent freeholder is 328 GTS Limited.
years
The Applicants are seeking determination of liability to pay and reasonableness of service charges for the years 2023, 2024 and 2025.
outcome
2024 – The Applicants are liable to pay £682.43 (50% contribution to the costs of insurance (£592.43) and accountancy (£90)).
total payable
2024 – The Applicants are liable to pay £682.43 (50% contribution to the costs of insurance (£592.43) and accountancy (£90)).
s20c
The Tribunal makes orders Under Section 20C of the Landlord and Tenant Act 1985, and under Paragraph 5 A of [name] 11 of the Commonhold and Leasehold Reform Act 2002, that the costs incurred by the Respondent in connection with these proceedings and the administration charges in respect of litigation costs are not recoverable from the Applicants by way of service charges.
costs
It is further ordered that the Respondent shall reimburse the Applicants for the Application fee of £110 and the Hearing fee of £227.

The passages each figure was read from, verbatim. People's names are replaced with [name].

The original

If this decision relates to your home and you'd like it removed from this site, email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with the address or the case reference (removal requests).

Spotted an error on this page? Email hello@rentrisecheck.uk with what is wrong; the decision's reference goes in the subject.

Past decisions are not a prediction. Each tribunal decides on the evidence in front of it.